RSS

To Read

04 Jan

I set a goal of reading 20 books this year. Here are the books I have queued up so far:

  1. Redeeming Love–Francine Rivers. I technically started this book in 2015, but I won’t finish until 2016.
  2. Year of Yes–Shonda Rhimes. Because I love all of her shows, and I think she’s a great storyteller.
  3. All the Light We Cannot See–Anthony Doerr. The description of this book doesn’t do it for me, but all of my reading friends read it and gave it wonderful reviews.
  4. The Aeronaut’s Windlass–Jim Butcher. Because I haven’t read any fantasy in a while, and my fantasy-reading friends are excited about this one.

A friend also recently shared this reading challenge:

920702_1626451044297752_79268176943036961_o

I’m pretty stoked about this challenge.

  1. I rarely ever read books the year they come out, so this will be fun.
  2. Not sure what book I will read for this one. I read Annabelle books all the time that fit into this category, but I’m thinking more like a short little book for older people. Thoughts?
  3. Year of Yes fits into this category.
  4. Looking forward to talking to my local librarian to see what is suggested to me!
  5. There are SO MANY books I should have read in school but didn’t. Pretty much if you think I should I have read it, I probably haven’t. Possible considerations for this category include the following: Fahrenheit 451; 1984; I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings; Night; The Bell Jar; The Catcher in the Rye; The Outsiders; One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest. Note that this is definitely not an exhaustive list.  Just some ideas I’m considering.
  6. Looking forward to ask my spouse & BFF for recommendations for this category.
  7. Lots of options for this one. Several cross listed from #5 for sure.
  8. Looking forward to choosing this one. There’s a lot of overlap between this category and #5. Potential considerations include the following: Beloved’ Go Ask Alice; The Chocolate War; The Color Purple; Bless Me, Ultima; Lord of the Rings.
  9. Go Set a Watchman. I didn’t finish this before it was due back to the library and never requested it again.
  10. Anne of Green Gables. The movie is one of my absolute favorites, but I don’t recall ever actually reading the book. I remember my grandma giving me the boxed set as a girl, and I’m relatively certain I never made it through any of them.
  11. Will have to think on this. My first thought is Moby Dick, but I’m not reading that one. Ha!
  12. Will have to think on this as well. My immediate thoughts are Ender’s Game, The Screwtape Letters, Alice in Wonderland, or any (all?) of the Chronicles of Narnia. Haven’t read them since my first year teaching.
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 4, 2016 in Book Club, Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
