RSS

Goals 2016

31 Dec

 

I’m not much of a new year’s resolution writer, but I enjoy the freshness of the new year. I like thinking about what habits I want to reinvigorate or what new routines to add to my life. This year is no different, but I have a graduated list. By this, I mean I don’t intend to get all of these up and running on January 1. That’s unrealistic and setting myself up for failure. Instead here is my list and planned time line.
1) Whole 30 (January 1st)

We generally follow a paleo lifestyle, but I’m excited to reset. We haven’t done a full and strict Whole 30 since summer of 2013. I’m part of a couple of Facebook groups this time around, and it’s a very different world from the first time we set out on this journey in 2009. It will be hard, but it will be good. Took my before pictures and measurements tonight, but I’ll go ahead and keep that to myself. lol

2) Bed by 9 on a regular basis (January 1st)

We’ve had several house guests which meant many late nights. My kid is up by 5. I need to prioritize sleep. I’m also going to try and renew my night routine which includes tea with a magnesium supplement, magahol spray on my legs, and orange glasses at least 30 minutes before the preferred bed time. The explanation behind all of that is for another day.

3) Bible reading on a regular basis (January 1st)
I was leading a small group up until Thanksgiving that was keeping me accountable to regular time in the Word. Since then the holidays, moving, and guests have derailed me. I miss my Jesus time. Not sure what this is going to look like quite yet, but I’m excited to be filling the pages of my journal again.
4) Dissertation five days a week (January 1st)

I need to touch this in some capacity each work day. Some days will be more than others, but each day nonetheless.
5) Blogging/journaling on a regular basis (January  1st)

I’ve already started this one. I’m hoping to keep up doing this at least once a week.
6) Water (February 1st)
I’ve been terrible about ensuring I get appropriate amounts of water consumed each day. I’m going to be intentional about this from the beginning, but won’t track it for a while.
7) Cleaning schedule (February 1st)

I have a schedule posted in my kitchen, but I’m not totally committed to it yet. I’ve been working up to the routine. I’m also working out the kinks of the plan I originally set for myself that I’ve already decided needs some tweaking.
8) Pleasure reading (February 1st)
I want to read at least 20 books for pleasure this year. That doesn’t seem like many, but I’m not sure I can make it. I am not the fastest reader and I don’t have a lot of free time for reading. This is less than two per month though, so I feel as though it’s doable. I’m looking forward to blogging my thoughts on at least some of them.
9) Regular exercise (February 1st)

I’m a strong believer in diet and sleep being in line before taking on exercise. When I figure those two out in January, I will start thinking about my plan for exercise in February. Childcare and finances are what’s killing me here. I’ll be doing a relatively easy 30 day challenge in January with a friend just to get my body moving each day, but I won’t be attempting to be a fire breather again until February.

10) Sending cards (March 1st)

I used to be in the habit of sending little cards and notes to people once a month or so and fell out of that practice. I want to bring it back.
11) Memorizing scripture (March 1st)
I want regular reading to be a solid habit before I take this up again. I put a “verse of the week” sign up in my new command center. I want to my use that as a tool to help me memorize more scripture again. That and husband also got me a bunch of post its in my stocking. I will use those to post the scripture in other places around the house as well.
12) Sewing/lettering/Crafting (March 1st)
I would like to get a good amount of time on this kind of stuff at least once a month, but with still trying to figure out routine, I’m not sure it will be a really regular thing for a little while yet.
 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 31, 2015 in Blogging, Moving, Team Alzen!

 

2 responses to “Goals 2016

  1. Teach

    December 31, 2015 at 9:18 pm

    I love your goals list! You’ve inspired me. My goals are to love God and prayer, love a church body and love myself through prioritizing my health.

     
    • jalzen

      December 31, 2015 at 9:19 pm

      Thank you! I LOVE your goals. They are much more relationally focused rather than task focused. This is something I need to work on more. I’m so glad we’re journeying together on at least one of these officially!

       

Leave a Reply

 
