RSS

Dissertation Update

20 Jul

I’ve had access to my dissertation data for about six weeks now. So far, I’ve done the following:

Stressed out about how much data there is
Calmed down and started swimming through the hundreds of files each with hundreds of variables
Looked at the distributions of a whole lot of teacher observation scores
Watched some videos of math classrooms
Attempted to do some statistics stuff in the language I normally use
Attempted to do some statistics stuff in a language I have little experience with
Compared my estimates to the ones the important research people already created
Discovered that my initial estimates have a correlation of .08 with important research peoples’
Made a plan for trying the estimates again
In short, I’ve written nothing, but I’ve done a whole lot of data exploration and statistics. That’s good, right?
 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 20, 2015 in Dissertation

 

One response to “Dissertation Update

  1. S N Lunetta

    July 23, 2015 at 5:38 am

    You have to start somewhere, right? 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
