RSS

Mins Game Success!

10 Jul

In June, BFF and I (yeah, I said BFF) took on the Minimalism Game together. In short, you get rid of 1 thing on Day 1, 2 things on Day 2, and so on until Day 30 when you get rid of 30 things. That’s a total of 465 items over the course of a month.

Let me give you some back story. About a year ago, I signed up for a membership to So Damn Domestic (P.S. If at any time you think you might want to join, use that link so I get credit for you joining!). I had actually “found” Emily during a Primal webinar with Mark Sisson years ago. I’d been following her on Twitter and reading her blog for a while before she started SDD. Being a part of this community kickstarted my desire to be a better homemaker. The group helped me to get into a better routine with household chores and doing those “extra” things you never think you have time for but make a huge difference in the feel of your home. Part of this was the act of decluttering as well as building better and new habits. Being a part of this new community that encouraged decluttering and making a nicer home, in conjunction with being pregnant and having some serious nesting instincts led to some intense decluttering over a year ago. I got rid of boxes and boxes of stuff. Stuff we had moved from California to two houses in Colorado–stuff I did not want to move to our third Colorado home.

Since I had decluttered so much stuff last year, I didn’t expect to make it to the end of this challenge. It wasn’t super easy. I had to hunt on some days, and I didn’t keep up with the pace. However, within 10 days of the end of the month, I finished the 30th day. This resulted in 5 boxes of stuff going to Good Will plus 3 bags of clothes to the consignment store and several items being sold on Craigslist.

Below is a tiny picture of everything I got rid of. It’s so much! I love it. The house has less stuff, and I have a constant eye for things I can get rid of now. I believe the plan is for my SDD folks to do a round of this challenge in August. They’re going to start with 30 things on the first day so the hard part gets done first. I really don’t think I could get through another round, but I’m going to try!

June Junk

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 10, 2015 in Housewifery

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
