RSS

10 Years Ago

30 Apr

Today is my last day of being 30. I was thinking about this day 10 years ago, the day before I turned 21. My life now is very different from what I thought it would be. If you’d asked me 10 years ago where I wanted to be in 10 years, I would not have mentioned a child. I would not have mentioned a doctoral program, and I would not have mentioned moving out of California. Ten years ago I intended to make a career out of teaching in Southern California. My highest academic aspirations were for a master’s degree, and that was for a pay raise as a teacher. The only long-term plan I had already figured out was that I knew Husband and I would get married, even though he hadn’t yet asked and I hadn’t yet accepted. I remember this day 10 years ago being excited to go out for drinks at midnight because bars don’t close until 2 am, so I could go drink for a couple of hours at the very beginning of being 21. I felt very rebellious for doing this. My parents took me out to dinner at Red Lobster the next day, where my mom was excited to buy me my first drink–I didn’t tell her that had already happened. She was so excited about it.

So now, of course, I’m thinking about where I’ll be 10 years from now. I have a very different mindset of long-term planning these days–I don’t really do it. Largely in part because I know I’m not the one in charge, and who knows what will unfold before us. My only plan is to be obedient as I know there’s no where better than the center of obedience. I do, of course, have hopes. Hopefully, the child that’s just starting to get big enough to really notice will be successfully completing 3rd-grade. I would love for my parents and husband’s parents to at least live in the same state, if not the same town. This one really is a hope as I have little control over the matter. I hope to have started whatever is going to be my career for the rest of my life, because I really need to get on that whole save for retirement thing. That’s really it. There are of course many things I expect to still be a part of my life, but a lot changes in 10 years. Only God knows the details, and that’s ok.

As for tonight, no late-night drinking. Today I’ll be finishing a term paper and then going out for happy hour with some friends to celebrate the end of another academic year. Maybe some Skyble (Bible study over Skype) with a friend near and dear to my heart. Bed by 10 like always, and tomorrow will be a trip to the library, reading, and maybe working on my baby registry. My life is pretty simple these days, and I’m thankful for that.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 30, 2014 in Team Alzen!

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “10 Years Ago

  1. Gary

    April 30, 2014 at 10:04 am

    Amazing things have been happening in your lives & God is truly Blessing them..may our Lord continue to guide & direct both on such a Blessed trail of unseen love as it continues to deepen in so many ways ,where God is still touching your Hearts in so many ways& Blueberry included..:) Tons of endless LOVE…Gary

     
    • jalzen

      April 30, 2014 at 10:09 am

      Thanks, Gary. We are super blessed and thankful for where God’s taken us. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
