RSS

Baby Nursery

09 Apr

One of the first things people ask me when they find out we aren’t going to find out the gender of our baby is “how are you going to decorate the nursery?” My first reaction is to tell people I’m buying everything in black. I say this partly because it’s true as it’s one of my favorite colors and goes with everything, and partly because it entertains me to see how people respond.

However, I do have thoughts about decorating a nursery:

First off, my kid is going to sleep in our room for at least the first space of life, if not a full year, as we don’t yet know where we’re going to live next year. If Blueberry spends the first year of his or her life in our bedroom, there will be no nursery to be decorated at all.

Second, I’m a terrible decorator. Partly because creativity is not within my giftings, partly because I often just don’t care, and partly because I attempt to be a minimalist, and lots of decor stuff gets filed under “unnecessary crap that I have to clean” in my mind.

Third, I hate all pastel colors and by and large nursery things are in pastels. There are lots of things in your basic primary colors too, but I’m also not really a fan of the primaries all together. I like deep, vibrant, jewel tones and strong contrasts. There’s not a lot of commercial baby stuff like that out there.

Finally, I have a real problem with strongly gendered nurseries mostly because I dislike the ideas of trains and planes for boys and princesses and dancers for girls. If that’s how you decorated your nursery, please don’t be offended. I’m not judging others. Just stating what’s for and not for me*.

All of that being said, the one thing I have decided on for whatever nursery space we have is that I would like to have some literary quotes from some of my favorite books on the wall. My need for little clutter and simplicity simply wants to put them on paper and laminate them, but I have a strong suspicion that will just look tacky. I think my plan will be to collect frames from Good Will, paint them all with colors that please me, and then do one of those cutesy frame walls you see all over Pinterest these days.

Here’s where I’m stuck though. Do I attempt to stretch my own creativity and make them myself with paper, pens, markers, and paint? Do I use very simple word processing fonts and formats and print them on my own paper? Do I pay for a graphic designer to design the quotes for me? Do I know a graphic designer who would just like to bless me by making them cute for me as a gift? Other options I don’t know about?

 

 

*The gender discussion is for another time and place as the conflation of my religious and educational backgrounds make me a little all over the place regarding gender identity formation.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 9, 2014 in Pregnancy

 

6 responses to “Baby Nursery

  1. wendeth77

    April 9, 2014 at 4:46 pm

    I will design anything for you/blueberry!!!!

     
    • jalzen

      April 9, 2014 at 4:57 pm

      I totally forgot you had this skill set!!!! We will talk once I have picked my quotes. Thank you, friend. 🙂

       
  2. wendeth77

    April 9, 2014 at 5:43 pm

    anytime, I would be honored, besides, you’ll be teaching my child algebra one day so we can call it a fair trade. I can’t wait for the post about gender issues. Also, I love the “black” idea, if not only for the reactions. “Yes, we’re going goth” 🙂

     
  3. lacigrl

    April 9, 2014 at 11:57 pm

    I’m so totally willing to help with anything you need as well, graphics or ideas. We were kind of forced to do a gender neutral nursery, not knowing whether we’d end up with a boy or girl, so we went with the Up “Adventure is Out There” retro theme because I love the movie and it works for both! I love it when people do out of the box rooms with some fun personality. Plus, there’s some really cool things you can do with black in a nursery, especially if you pick one accent color to really make it pop:

    Just promise you won’t do the whole room in yellow…a lot of people think “sunshiney and happy,” but I remember learning in my color theory class that studies have proven that the color yellow tends to make babies feel sick! Weird, huh?

     
    • jalzen

      April 10, 2014 at 7:38 am

      Thanks, Laci! You gals are the best. I found some that I like on Etsy for less than $5. I’ll just pay for those because y’all’s time is worth more than that, but I do love the idea of having a few designs made by dear friends. 🙂

       
      • lacigrl

        April 10, 2014 at 3:11 pm

        Etsy rocks. Where else can you find cloth diapers with TARDIS’s and Yoda on them? 😉

         

Leave a Reply

 
