RSS

List 13: Describe Your Childhood Home

13 Mar

My parents have lived in the same house for pretty much their entire marriage. It has 4 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, though one bedroom is used as an office. When I was little, I remember it having 70s orange shag carpet and gold curtains. When I was pretty young they replaced most of the carpet with tile and carpeted the bedrooms. I remember getting to pick what color would be in my room. Our house also always had a computer in it. I don’t remember not having one. We lived on a cul de sac in a small community, and there were few other kids on our street. A couple of the original families from my childhood still live there, but most of the houses have turned over multiple times. The house also has a large pool. There were lots of family and youth group BBQs in that backyard. The walls always had some collection of paintings, photography prints, and family portraits. The prints and paintings pretty much remained the same, but the family portraits changed as I got older.

That house was my home for over 20 years, but now that husband and I have been married for almost 8 years and lived multiple places together, it’s funny how much that house is no longer home. When I go there, it’s like visiting someone else’s house.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 13, 2014 in Blogging

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
