RSS

List 7: Favorite Childhood Games/Tasks

07 Mar

In some respects, I think I had a pretty abnormal childhood. I am an only child, and my street growing up only had one other kid, and she was several years older than me. My family, while large, had no other children my age either. My next closest cousin is six years older than me. Although I started going to church by the time I was about 4, we went to a very small church with only a few other children. My Sunday School class would often only be me and another kid and sometimes we even collapsed with other classes. All of that said, I had a hard time remembering playing very many games at all as a kid, but here’s what I came up with.

1) Canasta–we played with my grandparents as soon as I was old enough to figure it out. Playing is one of my favorite childhood memories.

2) Going to the library. Some will remember my infamous “worm book report”. That is I went to the library, checked out a book about worms, and wrote a book report for myself. There was one about bunnies too, but no one gets as excited about that one. Regardless, I loved the library and read a lot.

3) Reading to my mom. My mom worked a lot and I didn’t get to see her too often. When she would come home from work, I would read her bedtime stories.

4) Eating dinner in the hospital cafeteria. Related to #3. Since my mom worked so much, we ate dinner at the hospital with her at least once a week so I could see her more often.

5) Doing math. I really liked math. At least all the way through Algebra I remember getting my math books during the summer and teaching myself the first few chapters while I watched TV.

6) School. I was really good at school. I remember getting in trouble because I never had homework because I got it all done at school for years. My mom made me ask for more at one point.

7) Watching TV with my dad. My love for Murder, She Wrote and MacGuyver come from this. We used to watch all sorts of old shows together: Star Trek, Gilligan’s Island, Dragnet, Get Smart, and I Love Lucy for sure.

8) Old school computer games. King’s Quest, Laura Bow, EcoQuest, Space Quest. I played all of them. I really enjoyed the stories and that you hardly ever had to fight. They were more like puzzles you had to figure out. I still love computer games like that, even though they are few and far between.

There you go. That’s what I came up with as my favorite childhood activities and tasks. Not exactly what I call normal, but it’s what I’ve got.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 7, 2014 in Blogging

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
