RSS

Recommendations and Non-Recommendations

12 Feb

Things I don’t recommend:

  • Back injury while pregnant
  • Empty stomach during the first trimester
  • Reed’s Ginger Candies (one of the grossest things I’ve ever eaten)
  • Lemongrass and ginger kombucha
  • Stomach flu/bug while pregnant and with back injury

Things I do recommend:

  • Fuji apples
  • Army of more experienced moms to provide advice without shoving it down your throat
  • Strong support system of friends who offer to bring you things
  • Partner who goes to the store to collect any and all potential items for nausea relief
  • An attitude of thankfulness for a healthy baby

About that last one…I actually don’t really buy this notion of morning sickness, nausea, and vomiting means a healthy baby and pregnancy. I think it’s situation of correlation and not causation. I know plenty of mamas who never got sick at all and have perfectly healthy babies. I will say that after the miscarriage, I try to remind myself that the fact that I feel sick means there is a baby in there who is hopefully healthy. It is my privilege to be this kid’s mama and to bring him or her into the world.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 12, 2014 in Pregnancy

 

Leave a Reply

 
