RSS

Dissertation: Days 2-4

11 Jan

Don’t worry. You won’t get a single post each and every time I work on the dissertation. That will get quite old, quite fast. I’m thinking maybe once a week summaries, if that. Reflecting on the process is really more for me. I’m clearly titling so you can just skip if you have absolutely no interest.

Anyway, had my first meeting with my advisor about all of this. Also exchanged some emails and have developed a very broad and general idea of direction–teacher evaluation. Currently I feel excited, overwhelmed, ready, and inadequate. My hunch is it’s a roller coaster of emotion through the whole process.

I have a deadline to submit a proposal in the next two months for a funding competition. That is not enough time, my chances are low even if I had more time, I’m going in without a clear idea, and I have no idea what I’m doing. However, attempting to put together this proposal gives me some form of direction and deadline to guide my work over the next two months. Even if I have a very small chance at winning, doing the work will force me to think about ideas and synthesize them, and, why not try?

A distinct problem with this plan is that I’m still taking two classes this semester. I’d feel a bit better if I wasn’t carrying that load while trying to get this thing done, but whatever. It’s what I have to work with.

In the next two weeks, I’m hoping to watch about 9 hours of video and read 10 articles. I’m hoping that after all of that, I have an idea. We shall see what comes of it.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 11, 2014 in Dissertation, Grad School

 

Leave a Reply

 
