RSS

Winter Break Goals Revisted

10 Jan

Winter break comes to a close today. Classes start on Monday, and I’ll be starting some work on my dissertation. This was the last vacation of this length I’ll probably ever take.

First, the responsible goals:

  • Finish teaching online class
  • Prep for new online class that begins in January
  • Prepare materials for professional development in January
  • Complete a project report
  • Write a literature review for a new research project

Done, done, and done. Did all of these responsible things and a few more. Go me!

 

The fun goals:

  • Read 4 books for pleasure  FINISHED SEVEN!
  • Attempt (and perhaps master) a marshmallow and milk-free hot chocolate recipe–DECIDED AGAINST THIS AFTER ALL. JUST INDULGED IN BARISTA-MADE TWICE. DIDN’T WANT ALL OF THAT BAD FOR ME STUFF IN THE HOUSE.
  • Finish a crochet project I started two years ago–CROCHETING IS DONE. STILL NEED TO “FINISH” THE PROJECT BEFORE I GIVE IT AWAY AS A GIFT, BUT I CONSIDER THE GOAL MET
  • Crochet a new warm headband–AM QUITE PLEASED WITH THE OUTCOME. HAVE EVEN HAD A FRIEND ASK ME TO MAKE HER ONE AS A RESULT!
  • Play the keyboard my sweet friend brought for me–DIDN’T GET TO THIS AS MUCH AS I WOULD HAVE LIKED BECAUSE I READ SO MANY BOOKS, BUT GOOD ALL THE SAME.
  • Season my cast iron skillet once and for all!!!!!–I SEASONED IT, BUT I’M NOT CONVINCED IT’S ONCE AND FOR ALL.
  • Watch lots of Alias–ALMOST DONE WITH THE SERIES. WOULD HAVE FINISHED EXCEPT I’M NOT CRAZY ABOUT THE LAST SEASON AND AM NOT AS MOTIVATED TO WATCH
  • Play with a wonderful 6-year old and her mama for a week–IT WAS A MOST AMAZING TIME. I LOVE THAT KID AND HER MAMA.

All in all, a really good break. It was a decent balance of work and play. I feel well-rested. It may take me a week to transition back to 5 am wake up calls and 12 hour days, but I should have the reserves to make it happen. It’s hard to believe this is my last semester of classes (aside from one lingering class I have to take next year).

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 10, 2014 in Team Alzen!

 

Leave a Reply

 
