RSS

Book Club: The Raven Boys

07 Jan

This is a new YA series. The Raven Boys is Book #1, and Book #2 (The Dream Thieves) just came out this fall. My Christian friends might be uncomfortable with some of the content as magic is real in this series, and psychics play a decent role in the story. I hesitated to keep reading myself, but chose to continue.

This is one of the better YA books I’ve read in a while. The characters are interesting and different. The story isn’t predictable, and the plot line is engaging. It’s also refreshing to read something that isn’t running off of the post-apocalyptic/dystopian society that so much recent YA fiction seems to rely on.

With so many books I want to read, I’m not sure if I’m compelled enough to read the second book at this point. However, I will put it on my “to-read” list for consideration at a later time.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 7, 2014 in Book Club

 

Leave a Reply

 
