RSS

Identity Formation

19 Nov

I grew up in the evangelical church, and for as long as I can remember, my relationship with Christ has always been the primary source of my identity. I know other Christians who also grew up in the church, but who have a very different sense of self. It wasn’t until graduate school that I really thought about the way that other sources influence(d) my identity formation. I wonder if this is unique to my experience.

Do you think about how your identity is formed? Have you ever thought about it?  Do other people grow up thinking about how society constructs meaning for them? Have you thought about the way that social factors influence the way you view the world? Do you have views of yourself that are in contrast to what society says? Where did those ideas of identity come from? Can you choose to change how you identify yourself? If you feel one way, can you simply convince yourself that your identity is defined in another way? If you know the way you see yourself is untrue, can you change your sense of self? Should we be more intentional about the way that we as families and schools and citizens socially construct identities of others?

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 19, 2013 in Grad School

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
