RSS

Sense and Sensibility…Eh

17 Nov

This post my crush some of my English major friends, but I’m going to say it: I’m not a huge fan of this book. I tweeted early on that it was “a charming little story”, and I’ve decided that’s about all it is. I’m just not one for this type of tale. Ten chapters in, and I just don’t care. I can relate to Elinor in that she does not allow herself to carried away by emotion and that she is very logical in the way she interacts with the world. I do still adore the sentiment behind the friendship that resulted in me receiving this book as a gift. The contrast of Elinor and Marianne makes sense in light of one of my sweetest friendships. Other than that, there is no traction for me here. I am simply not drawn in by the story of two sisters looking to find husbands or discussion of 19th-century English upper middle class. Other than the 10 chapters I’ve read and Wikipedia summary I skimmed, I think I’m about done.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 17, 2013 in Book Club

 

Leave a Reply

 
