RSS

Back to a School Site?

10 Oct

Sometimes when I learn things in graduate school, I want to go back to the classroom to apply things I learned. I’m enticed by the process of developing learning trajectories and developing all new lessons tied to the Common Core.  I want to develop performance tasks and attempt to figure out how to turn performance tasks into grades. I want the next iteration of standards-based grading. I miss that stuff. I really enjoyed those parts of the work. I also know I’m romanticizing to some extent and that there is a very small chance I will ever end up back in the classroom. I’m also fairly certain I really wouldn’t be happy for very long. While I enjoy students and loved being a part of their lives, they aren’t who fueled my desire to teach. These other things I miss about teaching are great, but they aren’t a good enough reason to go back to that work.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 10, 2013 in education, Standards Based Grading

 

Leave a Reply

 
