RSS

Blogging

07 Oct

I want to blog more. I have thoughts about potential blog posts at least once a week. My list of blog post drafts is constantly changing. I delete posts that I’m no longer interested in and replace them with new great ideas I’m ruminating about. They almost all get deleted before they get anywhere close to finished.

A large part of this is my mental ideas of what a blog post should be. I think about the structure of what I’d write, the point I want to make, and the clear and concise language I’d use to make that point. Every post is practically a six-page essay in my head complete with hook at the opening paragraph and clear thesis statement early on. I’m going to try and free myself of these “rules” for many reasons. First, one point of this blog was to keep friends and family in California and various other places up to date on Team Alzen. If I don’t write, people don’t know what the haps be. Second, we’re hoping to soon be pregnant. I really want to have a record of how that all goes. If I get in the habit of just allowing myself to write here, then there it will be.  Third, I have good friends who blog all the time with posts that include no punctuation and vary in length from one word to great American novels.

This is my space. I make the rules, and I’m deciding to try and break them a bit.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 7, 2013 in Blogging

 

2 responses to “Blogging

  1. Josh Morgan

    October 7, 2013 at 5:51 pm

    I feel ya here! I’m not a writer nor do I love the writing process like some bloggers. And I always feel like the posts have to be peer review quality. But that’s not the point of blogging… I think I need to take the dissertation mantra and apply it here for those of us with the problem you mentioned: The best blog is a done blog. 🙂

     
    • jalzen

      October 7, 2013 at 6:03 pm

      Haha. I like that. Done equals the goal!

       

Leave a Reply

 
