RSS

30 ’til 30: 2002

20 Apr

Countdown to my 30th birthday. A new post each day in April to chronicle at least one significant thing from each year I’ve been alive.

2002

  • I turn 19 years old
  • I live Hungary as a summer missionary for two months
  • I win some sort of Filipino beauty pageant
  • My family goes to the Philippines for the first time ever for Christmas
  • I start competing on my college speech & debate team, and I win my very first competition
  • On that speech & debate team, I meet a woman who remains one of my sweetest and closest friends
  • I declare a double major in Math & English and start taking 20+ units a semester
  • I quit the college choir and for the first time since 3rd grade, I am not a part of any singing group
  • I become the youth leader at the small church from my childhood

Some historical tidbits from Wikipedia, so who knows if they’re right. Historical Facts:

  • Homeland Security Act is passed

Pop Culture:

  • #1 movie at the box office: The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers
  • Oscar for best picture: Chicago (I enjoyed this soundtrack quite a bit. I remember listening to it when driving to Husband’s aunt & uncle’s for Christmas)
  • Billboard’s #1 song: How You Remind Me–Nickelback
  • Grammy Song of the year: Fallin’–Alicia Keys
 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 20, 2013 in Team Alzen!

 

Tags:

2 responses to “30 ’til 30: 2002

  1. wendeth77

    April 20, 2013 at 7:05 am

    you always fixed my collar at tournaments! (and listened to me gripe about things)

     
  2. jalzen

    April 20, 2013 at 7:14 am

    hahaha. That’s funny. I had forgotten about that! Sweet times!

     

Leave a Reply

 
