RSS

30 ’til 30: 1998

16 Apr

Countdown to my 30th birthday. A new post each day in April to chronicle at least one significant thing from each year I’ve been alive.

1998

  • I turn 15 years old and start driving
  • I compete on my class drill team (I believe this is an Adventist thing) and we win first place
  • I get told I’m going to hell for various reasons. My Bible class this year was really challenging for my faith, but ultimately really good. I made pretty good friends with the Catholic girl in my class. We were the only two who weren’t Adventist.
  • I become increasingly involved in church. By now I’m singing on the praise team weekly, still involved in youth group, and participating in the evangelism program each week.
  • Choir tour to San Francisco. My grandmother comes as one of the chaperones.
  • Somewhere around here is the season where I give up secular music completely. Like many good Baptist kids around this time, I cracked all of my secular CDs. This is probably why I don’t remember the #1 Billboard song from this year.
  • I start dating my first real boyfriend. We stay together for over two years. I was completely caught off guard when he told me he was interested in me.

Some historical tidbits from Wikipedia, so who knows if they’re right. Historical Facts:

  • Google Inc is founded
  • Hugo Chavez becomes president of Venezuela
  • Khmer Rouge apologizes for the genocide in Cambodia (Particularly notable because we have good friends who were refugees from this)

Pop Culture:

  • #1 movie at the box office: Armageddon
  • Oscar for best picture: Shakespeare in Love
  • Billboard’s #1 song: Too Close–Next (This is the first of these songs I haven’t recognized)
  • Grammy Song of the year: Sunny Came Home–Shawn Colvin
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 16, 2013 in Team Alzen!

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
