RSS

30 ’til 30: 1996

14 Apr

Countdown to my 30th birthday. A new post each day in April to chronicle at least one significant thing from each year I’ve been alive.

1996

  • I turn 13 years old–my parents forgot on my actual birthday, but I had a big birthday party that was lots of fun. I still have some jewelry one of my dear friends from my old Montessori school gave me as a gift that year.
  • Junior high–not a super great time. Your typical friend upsets.
  • Some notable moments with sexual harassment and racism during this year.
  • Became more and more involved in church and Christian club at school
  • My 4th-grade teacher died. Many of us attended the funeral.
  • A great most embarrassing moment: Singing “We are the World” in the talent show with two friends—poorly. Three part harmony was hard!
  • My grandpa died suddenly. It was really hard. I spent a lot of time visiting with them.
  • I played JV girls’ basketball. This was the beginning of me losing some of the weight.
  • My parents pay for me to go on an educational tour of France that summer. It was the first time I went off and traveled anywhere without them.

Some historical tidbits from Wikipedia, so who knows if they’re right. Historical Facts:

Pop Culture:

  • #1 movie at the box office: Independence Day (I remember watching this at a birthday party)
  • Oscar for best picture: The English Patient (This is the first Oscar’s award show I remember watching)
  • Billboard’s #1 song: Gangsta’s Paradise–Coolio (I LOVE this song)
  • Grammy Song of the year: Kiss from a Rose–Seal (LOVE this one too)
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 14, 2013 in Team Alzen!

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
