RSS

30 ’til 30: 1994

12 Apr

Countdown to my 30th birthday. A new post each day in April to chronicle at least one significant thing from each year I’ve been alive.

1994

  • I turn 11 years old
  • My 5th-grade teacher is amazing and babysits me a time or two
  • I have my first crush, Derek
  • My family goes on vacation to Australia & New Zealand. I meet my pen pal of several years while we’re there.
  • I make my second best friend, Diana
  • I meet Michelle Kwan
  • The weight situation continues

Some historical tidbits from Wikipedia, so who knows if they’re right. Historical Facts:

  • Rwandan Genocide
  • Nelson Mandela becomes President of South Africa
  • OJ Simpson trial (I specifically remember watching the high speed chase on the news while on vacation at my grandparents’ house in Missouri)

Pop Culture:

  • #1 movie at the box office: The Lion King (I miss these days of Disney musicals)
  • Oscar for best picture: Forrest Gump
  • Billboard’s #1 song: The Sign–Ace of Base (My second ever tape cassette behind Boyz II Men)
  • Grammy Song of the year: A Whole New World–Peabo Bryson & Regina Belle
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 12, 2013 in Team Alzen!

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
