RSS

30 ’til 30: 1993

11 Apr

Countdown to my 30th birthday. A new post each day in April to chronicle at least one significant thing from each year I’ve been alive.

1993

  • I turn 10 years old
  • I finish 4th grade at Loma Linda Elementary
  • My mom has a second bout with cancer. God uses this to draw me to Himself and saves me. My life is pretty much defined by this from this time on. I begin and remain fairly involved in church from this year until now.
  • I got my color card pulled once in 4th-grade. This is the one time I ever got in trouble in school.
  • I start gaining lots of weight. At this point I assume related to stress and my mom’s cancer.

Some historical tidbits from Wikipedia, so who knows if they’re right. Historical Facts:

  • Star Trek: Deep Space Nine premiers. This is the last Star Trek show my dad and I watch together.
  • Bill Clinton becomes President
  • Janet Reno becomes the first female Attorney General
  • Branch Davidian incident in Waco, Texas
  • Clinton enacts NAFTA and Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell

Pop Culture:

  • #1 movie at the box office: Jurassic Park
  • Oscar for best picture: Schinderl’s List
  • Billboard’s #1 song:I Will ALways Love You–Whitney Houston
  • Grammy Song of the year: Tears in Heaven–Eric Clapton & Will Jennings
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 11, 2013 in Team Alzen!

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
