RSS

It’s been a year

30 Mar

It’s crazy to me that it was just about a year ago that I wrote this post about changing our minds about having children.

Nothing huge has changed since that time. I’ve read half a dozen books on parenting, pregnancy, and birth. My feed burner and social media feeds now include a handful of people who write about parenting, natural childbirth, and attachment parenting. I have all sorts of ideas about the way I want to do things. I’m sure little will smash all of those plans, but I can’t help but plan in some way. I’ve spoken to my doctor about this once and will go to a “pre-conception” doctor’s appointment this summer and possibly start checking out midwives and doulas. I’m hoping that the summer affords me more time to read up on this stuff. Be prepared for this blog to (hopefully) turn into mommy central sometime in the next year.

In the year before we moved to Colorado, I often had “this is the last time I’ll do X” thoughts. Similar to that time, more than once in the past year I have thought “this is very possibly the last time I will do X as a person without a child.” I’m sure that sounds neurotic to some of you, but it’s who I am. I’m a planner. Everything is planned in every way I can plan it, but I am always open to a change in plans. Change in plans is always ok with me. No plan is typically not ok. I learned this in my numerous trips to serve overseas. Always remain flexible, but always be intentional. I know all the parents reading this are laughing at me right now. We’ll see how/if this part of me changes with a kid.

More and more I already see how God is using just the thought of having a child to mold me into a better version of me. It’s humbling, exciting, terrifying, and encouraging all at the same time.

Husband set a goal of getting a blue belt in jiu-jitsu before little arrives. I don’t have a goal. Should I? What do you suggest? I’ll keep you posted as things evolve. I have one book left that I definitely intend to read. If anyone has books, blogs, twitter folks, or podcasts you think I’d find interesting regarding parenting/childbirth, please pass them along. I’m currently leaning toward natural childbirth with a midwife at a birthing center attached to a hospital as well as attachment-style parenting.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 30, 2013 in Christ-follower, Pregnancy, Team Alzen!

 

5 responses to “It’s been a year

  1. wendeth

    March 30, 2013 at 10:15 pm

    I’m a planner (not that they work out so well), I would say a planner is good in a parent. Kids need structure, parents need order. There is a difference between control and planning…..also there’s always the personality of the child too, mine is awesome 😛 Your kid will be too though so it’s safe to say your parenting style will be awesome and your kid will be a great compliment (and challange) to yours and Michael’s personalities. You’re already where you need to be with maintaining flexibility. Just be cautious to over research (speaking from experience) spend more time talking with and spending time with great moms in your life (or other moms, it’s always nice to know what to avoid) and…..enjoy the ride 🙂

     
    • jalzen

      March 31, 2013 at 2:51 pm

      Thanks. Talking to parents is a good point. I should definitely do that more. I haven’t met a lot of people doing what I want to do though, so I’ll have to try and meet some more people. Am considering looking for and joining the local La Leche League to try and meet some moms.

       
  2. Laci Morgan

    March 30, 2013 at 11:10 pm

    Yeah, I always thought people who did natural childbirth were nuts, but then the more I read up on it, watched documentaries, and saw how awesome Brendan’s birth was, the more I realize that’s the way it SHOULD be. There’s way too many unnecessary interventions. A birthing center and hospital sounds like a great plan! Brendan’s Bmom really wanted that, but couldn’t due to a blood count thing that put her at higher risk. But she did it all naturally, and recovered super fast! He was really alert too. I imagine a birthing center would be way more relaxing though.

    I don’t have any particular fave parenting books, but I DO recommend that you look into researching cloth diapers, if you haven’t already. I was SO skeptical until I met a mom that used them, and she showed me how great they were. When you find the right kind for you (there’s lots of options), they don’t leak, you never have poopy blowouts or diaper rash, and they don’t stink, believe it or not…I can have a giant bag of dirty diapers sitting in the room for a week, and you’d never know. Nothing like how gross the disposables I’ve tried smell when used! Plus they’re economical, green, and come in really cute patterns and colors. We use Bumgenius Freetime All in Ones, and when Brendan was little we used prefolds and a snappi inside a cover, until he fit the others. I’m super gung ho about them now, they work so well! People always say, “Eww, I could never do cloth,” then I show them ours and they think its pretty cool. If you have any questions, I’m happy to answer them. It just seems like something you guys in particular would do really well with. 🙂

     
    • jalzen

      March 31, 2013 at 2:50 pm

      Thanks, Laci! I might be talking to you about this. We’re interested, but Michael is pretty hesitant. The washing machine situation freaks us out a bit. haha

       
      • lacigrl

        March 31, 2013 at 9:18 pm

        Haha it’s so not as gross as it sounds. You can put flushable liners in so less poop gets in the wash, or use a sprayer beforehand. And if you breast feed, it’s water soluble so you can actually just toss it right in there until they start eating solids. I spray ours off though, mostly just to prevent any staining. Haven’t had any issues yet. Though it took me a few tries until I could spray without splattering, haha! Now I’m a pro. 😉

         

Leave a Reply

 
