RSS

Random Updates

03 Mar

It’s been two months with no update for you all who I haven’t talked to in a bit. In all honesty, there’s not much very interesting going on. I work. I go to class. Then I work some more. I cook some food. We eat and watch TV. Then we go to bed and do it all over again. That’s pretty much every day. Exciting life, I know. Weekends include some errands, church, and occasionally a fun thing like a hike or eating out.

We’re talking about streamlining things around here and being a bit more minimalist. We have more than we need, and it would be nice to get rid of the excess. I’m hoping to work on this during spring break, but it might be more of a summer event. We already sold two pieces of our bedroom furniture. I’ll be getting rid of some clothes, purses, shoes, book, and other random things I’ve kept simply because they were in good shape but we never use. This will help with our shared house situation as well as preparing to start a family and moving into a smaller place with an additional little person next year.

I’m just about done with another parenting book. I think this is the third one I’ve read. Should have taken better notes. Anyway, this particular book is just going to add to the list of things that make Team Alzen weird. We already follow a Paleo lifestyle, wear minimalist shoes, sleep on a two inch mattress, and take fermented cod liver oil and butter oil. Add to that the fact that I’m considering choosing co-sleeping and a floor bed over a crib and a sling over a stroller. We’re starting to look odd even for Boulder.

Oh and a follow-up from the Whole30. I lost about 5 pounds and two inches. Back to as small as I’ve been in my adult life and feeling really good. If I had time to work out, 30 would be even better, but that’s just not happening with school and work. We’ve relaxed things a little bit, but nothing crazy. One or two cheats a week at the most and sometimes not even that. I’ve found that lots of stuff makes me feel not so great. I’m possibly giving up dairy (except butter) completely. Also a bit iffy on chocolate. Made some gluten-free chocolate cake and coconut milk ice cream for roommate’s birthday and didn’t feel so well afterward. It’s just not worth it to me. Even after some cheating, fruit seems to be a completely satisfying treat.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 3, 2013 in Team Alzen!

 

2 responses to “Random Updates

  1. wendeth77

    March 4, 2013 at 7:26 am

    all of that (cosleeping,wrap, etc) is awesome. also homemade babyfood. Don’t completely count out a stroller though. I think it’s great what you’re doing, not weird at all….much more natural (of course I may not be the right person to define weird, especially with child raising). I can’t wait to see your offspring

     
    • jalzen

      March 9, 2013 at 9:36 am

      Oh, we’ll definitely make the baby food. I make all of our food from scratch. Baby will be no different. Will probably breast feed longer than makes most people comfortable too. lol Michael says we’ll get a stroller, but probably buy a used one as we don’t expect to use it as much as others do. Or I’m totally wrong and we’ll use it all the time. Who knows? lol

       

Leave a Reply

 
