RSS

Resolutions and Reflections

02 Jan

January is typically a time to turn over a new leaf or try something new. Last year I committed to send a letter each month to my friend who lives overseas. Somewhere my calendar got off because I still owe her one last letter. Otherwise, I made the goal and am pleased that I’ve kept in better touch with her over 2012.

For 2013, I’m committing to memorizing scripture. It’s a discipline I’ve practiced at various times in my life and decided it was time to intentionally make it a part of my life again. Loosely following the Living Proof Ministry plan, I’ll be starting with Philippians 4:4-8 for the first few weeks of 2013. The plan is to memorize and meditate on one verse every two weeks. By the end of the year, I’m hoping to have not only memorized but to have really internalized 24 verses. The memorization is ridiculously doable, so it’s only a matter of being intentional. I’ve recruited a couple of close friends to do it with me. Let me know if you want in on the accountability.

We’ve followed a Paleo lifestyle for over 3 years now. Our first official Whole 30  was over the holiday season of 2009. However, we’re only super strict for a couple of months a year. The rest of the time, we’re a little more relaxed and will occasionally indulge on chocolate or rice or even cheese, but never gluten. As January is the time of resolutions, we’ll be doing a Whole 30 once we get home from our vacation to California. Afterward we’re hoping for more regimented 80/20 maintenance over the loosey goosey “lifestyle” we’ve been maintaining since moving to Colorado. In preparation for great before and after pictures and more dramatic results, husband and I have been eating plenty of rice and candy while on vacation in CA. 😉

We’ll be foregoing a little extra this time and eliminating nightshades (i.e. tomatoes, peppers, eggplant, and eggs). We did this once before, and I felt absolutely the best I’ve ever felt. Husband is fairly certain I have thyroid issues, and that is why I felt so good eating this way. Some of the vacation leisure was used to collect recipes and expand my recipe spreadsheet. I’m fairly excited about the new recipes. Am hoping to blog through this Whole 30 challenge as well. We’ll see how that goes with all of the grad school stuff going on.

It’s weird to think that 2012 may be the last year of my life that doesn’t include the process of motherhood. Sometimes this fact terrifies me. Other times it’s totally exciting. No telling what the Lord’s plan is exactly, but it’s very possible that by this time next year, I’ll be several months along in the process of growing a baby. Hang around for the ride, I’ll be blogging the whole terrifying yet wonderful experience.

The third semester of graduate school was by far the hardest semester of my school experience. Had a class that was easily 70% me frantically copying down everything from the board in hopes that it would make sense later. I’m blessed to be through. Next semester is supposed to be even harder, so we’ll see what it holds.

Other than all of that life is pretty much the same old same old over here for Team Alzen. The Lord is faithful and good to provide for us daily. We have all that we need and are blessed with so much more. Here’s to a great 2013!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 2, 2013 in paleo, Team Alzen!

 

Leave a Reply

 
