RSS

Gearing Up for 30

14 Nov

In 2013…

…I’ll turn 30

…I’ll celebrate my 7th wedding anniversary

…I’ll spend year 13 with husband

…I’ll hopefully get pregnant (in December or later)

Lots of things coming up. A dear, sweet friend is also turning 30 and has her own events in 2013. Both of us have decided it might be a good idea to try to make 30 look better than 18. Our scheming will not only hopefully get our diet and exercise in line, but will also help us stay in touch more despite the crazy busy lives we both live.

Since we went Paleo three years ago, my weight hasn’t left a 5-pound window, nor have my measurements wandered outside of a 1-inch margin. Regardless, some things could be tightened up. I’m not always making the wisest food choices and grad school really rains on my exercise parade. Friend is in charge of outlining our food plan. I’ll share when she updates me on those goals. My plan for exercising is Body Pump at 24 Hour Fitness two times a week. If you’ve been around here for a while, this will seem odd because I’m typically a cross-fitter or weight-lifter. There is a handful of other women in my life who go or are interested in going to this class. I figure I’m doubling up if I’m getting a work-out and quality time with dear friends at the same time. So, unless I’m short on sleep (less than 7 hours), traveling, or sick, the plan is to take this class (or at least work out) two times a week. This is less frequently than at other times in my life, but it’s what is currently manageable. Grad school Year 2 is significantly harder than Year 1, and I’m expecting next semester to be even harder.

I’m also hoping this will give me more to talk about around here. My life the past couple of months has been hours of studying mathematical statistics, reading about latent variable modeling, and talking about multicultural education. That’s boring to the vast majority of you. Maybe this will be interesting. I’m also hoping to find some great new recipes to share.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 14, 2012 in Blogging, crossfit, Grad School, paleo

 

3 responses to “Gearing Up for 30

  1. wendeth77

    November 14, 2012 at 6:04 pm

    I didn’t see your trip to Thailand on that list?! I’m also impressed after a few days with my kid you are still up for having your own 😛 Glad she didn’t ruin it for you. After you left I realized I just spent 5 days with the person who I’m pretty convinced would do a far better job at parenthood than I am….you and Mike are going to be AWESOME parents!!!

     
  2. jalzen

    November 14, 2012 at 6:16 pm

    If I could afford it, visiting Thailand would DEFINITELY be on that list. As far as kids goes, that’s an act of obedience. While I pretty much have convinced myself that I want kids now, I definitely am not getting in line for the childbirth experience just yet. And after I left you and your sweet girl, I realized how much I’ll be calling you for help when I have a kid. Seriously, you’re an amazing mom. Thanks for the vote of confidence though.

     
    • wendeth77

      November 14, 2012 at 6:19 pm

      I hear ya. And yeah, the child birth experience……eh, I wouldn’t want to do it again, and I had drugs! Thanks for the compliment, I try.

       

Leave a Reply

 
