RSS

Beloved

20 Jun

As a kid and through high school, I was way too conservative to even consider getting a tattoo, but as I got older, they became more and more appealing. I considered various designs and pictures for years, but nothing was ever worth permanently tattooing on my body. Then Husband and I talked about getting coordinating or even matching tattoos. This, I decided, was worth the ink. Even in our joint effort, we still talked about various designs for well over a year, maybe even two or three. Finally, we decided on Song of Solomon 6:3 as our inspiration: “I am my beloved’s and my beloved is mine”. My purity ring had this verse engraved in it, so it had always been close to my heart. I think the text is just so beautiful. Originally, we were both going to get the verse tattooed in Hebrew. Husband ended up going that route.

Isn’t his arm HOT?! I digress. Anyway, I love his tattoo. I love looking at it and knowing it’s for me, and I love that it’s in Hebrew. I don’t really have a good reason for that, but I just love everything about it.

BUT, I didn’t love it for me. It just wasn’t feminine enough. This led me to search for something related to, but different from the verse. I landed at Song of Solomon 2:2 “As a lily among brambles, so is my love among the young women”. Beloved, love. Close enough, right? Anyway, we went with this design incorporating both verses. It is MUCH larger than I intended to go originally, but we decided it looked good and was a good size for between my shoulder blades. I trusted the artist and am glad that I did.

This is my tattoo. I love it. In fact, it’s one of my favorite things about me. We had these done in August of 2009, so it’s now almost 3 years old. I love that it reminds me that my husband sees me as a beautiful lily among thorns, that I am my beloved’s, and he is mine. I also love it as a reminder of the way the Church is supposed to be among the world. As a believer, I am to be a lily among brambles. I am to be beautiful among the ugliness that is the world and represent Christ as a beautiful lily that is so opposite of the world it is like the contrast between a flower and thorns.

So, the big question is, am I going to get another one? Very likely. There’s a plan in the making, but I expect it will be another two years until I make a firm decision or not. You’ll need to stick around and see.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 20, 2012 in Christ-follower, Team Alzen!

 

Leave a Reply

 
