RSS

Grad School: Year 1

09 May

I’ve officially completed my first year of my doctoral program. I now get to introduce myself as “second year REM” when people ask me what program I’m in. It’s an amazing feeling. I couldn’t be happier.

I think my school does a great job of transitioning people from their previous lives into graduate school. While I don’t necessarily think I *needed* all of the content from the six courses I took this year, I definitely learned a lot, made good friends, figured out how grad school works, and have generally acclimated to this culture. My classes will be much harder next year, so I’m glad I had this transition time. I’ll also be working 20 hours a week for my advisor as opposed to the 10 I did this year, but I get to be a TA and teach a lab. While I don’t really miss teaching 7th-grade, I do miss teaching, so I’m looking forward to that experience. It’s a high stress class though, so I’m sure it will be interesting.  I’ll only have class two days a week next year, but will perform my TA duties all day on a third. We’ll see how it goes!

There’s a good balance of plans for the summer. Reading for work and fun, working for my advisor for 20 hours a week, teaching on-line classes, cooking food, laying in the sun, visiting with out of town guests, and moving to a new place with roommates. Life is good. We are blessed.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 9, 2012 in Grad School

 

Tags:

3 responses to “Grad School: Year 1

  1. Alicia

    May 9, 2012 at 9:29 am

    I am soooo proud of you friend!!! You make grad school look easy.

     
  2. jalzen

    May 9, 2012 at 10:19 am

    Aw. Thanks! So far, it was pretty easy. We’ll see what next year holds.

     

Leave a Reply

 
