RSS

Running, Zombies, and Babies

27 Mar

So you all have only known for about a day that Husband and I have decided to change our minds about kids. However, we’ve been thinking about it for a while, and the thought has been impacting some of my choices for a bit.

I did some basic Googling on what you should do before you got pregnant. Things included going to the doctor, visiting the dentist, losing some weight, getting into a regular exercise routine, getting sufficient sleep, going out with your partner, changing your diet, talking about kids, talking about finances, and stop drinking and doing drugs. (I kid you not. The stop doing illegal drugs was easily on three sites I found). So…I do all these things aside from the occasional drink or two and I have yet to visit the dentist in Colorado. These are small fixes, so according to the internets, I’m one dentist appointment away from being ready! But now isn’t really on my timetable, so what can I do to be “better” prepared. I know all you parents are laughing at me, but I figure anything I do that makes me “better” only benefits me in the long run.

So what does this have to do with running, zombies, and babies? Well…

I went to this really conservative Seventh-Day Adventist school for grades 3-12. One lesson often taught was that of the end times when Christians would be under persecution. This was an argument in favor of all the PE classes we had to take and generally being healthy. Being in good physical condition would one day prepare us for survival. I know. This sounds like a zombie movie, hence the blog title. Anyway, my thoughts on the end times and running to the hills are for another blog post. However, a piece of this always stayed with me, and a small part of why I’ve always worked out was in preparation for survival. When I’m running, somewhere in the back of my mind I think I am training for when I will have to run for my life. Please get that Run, Zombies, Run app on Android so I can use it on my runs!

Anyway, combine the running with our lifestyle…

You don’t have to read around here long to know that we follow a hunter-gatherer/paleo lifestyle. Part of wanting to have a kid includes watching a kid follow this lifestyle! And this idea begins at birth. My hippie, ancestral-based ways are currently leading me toward a natural birth. Yeah. I know. We’ll see if I hold out until the actual event. I watched one on-line yesterday and just about changed my mind. Anyway, I assume that part of having a “good” experience in natural childbirth includes being in great shape.

So…

While I will likely continue to run on and off, I’ve returned to weightlifting and general strength and flexibility in the past few weeks. Nearing a new PR on dead lifts and attaining new PRs on other lifts has been great. The success in the push-up challenge lead to the new routine of push-ups as well as the pull-ups and toes-to-bar I’m doing for the next 93 days. Seems to me that good strong abs are a good idea. So just like running always makes me think of running for my life and preparing for the end times, these weight exercises have me thinking I’m better preparing my body to care for and birth our child. And all you who are laughing at my naivete in thinking this will make a difference in my childbirth experience, oh well. I figure I’ll likely be more devoted to regularly working out, and, if nothing else, I’ll at least look better at 30 than I’ve ever looked.

I’m also excited about trying to do yoga regularly when we move to our new house in August. We’ll be less than a block from a gym where I can take free yoga classes most days of the week. I’m hoping to get in there twice a week to really work on my flexibility and focus and all of that.

So, do particular things give you extra motivation to exercise? To do a particular activity? No? Just me? I’m ok with it.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 27, 2012 in crossfit, paleo, Pregnancy

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “Running, Zombies, and Babies

  1. Suzanne Schultz Pick

    March 27, 2012 at 10:15 am

    Congratulations on your road to parenthood! What an exciting time for you guys!
    Your school handled the reasons for being physically fit a lot better than my public school did – our female PE teacher told all of us 12-13 year old girls that we needed to know how to run away from a potential rapist. Seriously.

     
    • jalzen

      March 27, 2012 at 1:07 pm

      Wow! Well, I suppose that might motivate some 12-13 year old girls…maybe?

       
      • Suzanne Schultz Pick

        March 29, 2012 at 2:25 am

        Or scare them into running as fast as they can around a baseball field in the worse of Florida’s August heat. :-/

         
  2. Becka Lohman

    March 27, 2012 at 11:45 am

    You know what else yoga and increased flexibility will help with?! Haha.

     
    • jalzen

      March 27, 2012 at 1:06 pm

      Lol. You’re silly. I love you.

       

Leave a Reply

 
