RSS

Whole 30 Paleo Day 22 Reflections

22 Mar

We’ve been Paleo since December 2009. After a brief stint of returning to some gluten and other pre-paleo foods in February and March of 2010, we wholeheartedly adopted the paleo lifestyle and haven’t had a desire to turn back. Next Friday will be the end of the 2012 Whole 30 challenge. This is at least the third completely strict 30 days we’ve done. I can’t remember how many we’ve done for sure, and there were several times we did a few weeks here or there just to get back on track. We don’t eat strict Whole 30 everyday because, frankly, I don’t think it’s realistic to be that strict 100% of the time. However, we generally follow an 80/20 adherence. If you’re interested in how we maintain, let me know, and I’ll talk with you about it or write another post.

Anyway, on to the point of this post. This morning I was reflecting on what I’m planning to reintroduce next weekend. I feel really good. I mean really good. My body feels strong and healthy. I have great energy, I sleep well, I’m doing well in the gym, and I’m just happy and healthy. So, why would I do anything to mess this up? I don’t want to. Now, I’m not planning on being all crazy and still being Whole 30 compliant every day, but here are my simple plans for reintroduction:

Dark chocolate–yeah, that’s happening, but not often. Just a piece or two once in a while. I don’t need a whole bar.

Cheese–not in the house really, but if we go out, I’m having cheese on my omelet.

Homemade treats–If I’m going to eat a treat, I’m going to make it. I’ll know what’s in it, and I’ll have to want it enough to be willing to work for it. These typically have honey, maple syrup, or dark chocolate in them. I can feel good about having something like this on occasion without stressing out about the detriment to my body.

Alcohol–nothing crazy, but an occasional glass of wine or a gin and tonic just sounds amazing.

That’s pretty much it. I feel good about it. We’ll see how it goes!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 22, 2012 in paleo

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
