RSS

Diet>Sleep>Exercise

14 Jan

I try to live by this:

Meaning I keep my diet in line first and foremost. If my diet gets out of control, then my sleep and training get messed up. I don’t sleep as well, and my workouts are sad. Similarly, if I’m not getting enough sleep, training is counterproductive to my goals. If I haven’t slept enough, I believe it’s better for me to rest than to go to the gym again. I think sleep gets left out of too many equations. People will stick to a diet and kill themselves at the gym, but not get the rest and sleep their bodies need.

Our society has taught us that food and sleep can be marginalized and exercise is only for some people. Food should be easy, convenient, and fast. Pop it in the microwave for a few minutes, add some water, or just open a package. It should come in individual packets that we can eat while we’re still working or sitting in front of a TV. Sleep is unnecessary. We’ll just regularly sacrifice sleep to work more or party or whatever. Sleeping a healthy amount is what old people do.

When did it become ok to cut corners when taking care of your body? When did society put more value on work and entertainment than on taking care of yourself? I just don’t get it. I can be the best student or the best worker. I can be the biggest success that ever was, but if I have not taken care of my body, I have failed. If I am unhealthy at my desk, and I have not spent quality time with my spouse, I have failed. There is so much you can do to take care of your body before you ever set food in a gym. Unfortunately, society tells us those things are for the weak or those who are not successful or those who are not willing to make the sacrifices necessary to move up the ladder. I don’t think so. I think those are the people who have a far greater quality of life. I fail sometimes, but I’m trying to be one of those people.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 14, 2012 in crossfit

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
