RSS

Push-Up Update: Day 33

31 Dec

I posted back around Day 15 that I was seeing great results in my push-ups. I will not deny that I have been improving, but the reports of my improvements are greatly over exaggerated. Husband pointed out that I had my hands spread really far apart and that proper push-ups would have me putting my hands just about shoulder-width apart. I definitely was not doing that, and when I did, I fell on the ground. I was back to all girl push-ups and no boy push-ups. When I did my set today, he noted that they were pretty good and definitely the best I’ve ever done, but that my hips were dipping down. Apparently now I need to activate my core more. I fell on my face once again today.

I’ve always had really bad arm strength. I can easily deadlift over my body weight, but my overhead push-press is barely over half of my body weight. Husband says the push-up challenge will help with the overhead, so I’m excited to see progress there. This is similar to my pull-up challenge from a few years ago. Since I stopped attempting them all the time, I can’t currently do a dead lift pull-up either. Grr…too many things I want to accomplish. Maybe I can talk them into putting a pull up bar in my office somewhere…

Anyway, I could only do three or four of the “good” push-ups before he told me today to activate my core more. I’ll try with that again tomorrow. The stupid girl push-ups are helping to build the muscle so I can do more real push-ups, but they still irk me. One day I will be done with them! Hopefully that day will come in the next seventy days or so.

Also, I’m pretty sure I miss-counted somewhere along the way. I think I’m supposed to be on Day 32, but am not sure. Am sticking with this number.

Hope your challenge is going well!

Also, stay tuned for a 30 day paleo challenge over here at Team Alzen. We’re likely holding out until March for currently undisclosed reasons, but I’ll fill you all in soon.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 31, 2011 in crossfit

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Push-Up Update: Day 33

  1. jessican

    December 31, 2011 at 10:18 am

    I’m terrible at push-ups. Absolutely terrible. I’ve been improving a lot with the P90X, but I still struggle to do more than 3 or 4 quality form ones in a row.

    I just installed the pull-up bar last night! I’m excited!

     
  2. Erin

    January 3, 2012 at 12:45 pm

    First, your undisclosed reasoning for “March timing” is mysterious and maddening. But, you’re allowed. Second, one way to try and make girly push-ups more difficult is to only use one knee (straighten the other leg back behind you, parallel-ish (or higher) to the ground. That’s somewhere between girl and real push-ups. Just a thought (from someone who also hates knee push-ups).

     
    • jalzen

      January 3, 2012 at 1:10 pm

      Oooh! That’s good. I hadn’t even thought about that. Will start doing that tomorrow. Thanks! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
