RSS

Tithing and Offering

23 Dec

Something we’re thinking about over here. Why do believers generally hold to the 10% tithe of the Old Testament law? The New Testament tells us to give generously so the church can function (2 Cor. 8-9). We’re told to look after orphans and widows (James 1:27) and give to those who are without (2 Cor. 8). I’m in no way thinking we shouldn’t give. I’m merely thinking about the fact that I’ve always “checked the box” next to 10%, and I’m not necessarily sure this is right. I think this goes along with the “wisdom” decisions from an earlier blog post. For some, 10% may not be enough. For others, 10% may be too much, and I don’t think the percent is a hard and fast rule.

I think that if the church is something you are a part of, believe in, and support, part of that support should be given financially. I also think that we should help people in need.

Thoughts?

 
6 Comments

Posted by on December 23, 2011 in Christ-follower

 

Tags:

6 responses to “Tithing and Offering

  1. Josh Morgan

    December 23, 2011 at 11:04 am

    I agree! One of the core things about tithing is doing it as a form of worship, which takes intention. In many places, tithing is done so automatically, there is no devotion left. It’s good for the income of many organizations, but is that what God asks of us? I wrote a post related to this on automatic tithing.

     
    • jalzen

      December 23, 2011 at 12:22 pm

      The 10% “rule” had been so deeply ingrained in me that I had just never let up on it. I’ve always given 10% tithe. period. Then at times I would give offering over and above. Mike read something on our new church’s website that made us think about tithing again. I did a word study and realized that I’d never considered the fact that the New Testament doesn’t explicitly tell us to tithe, and that the 10% thing is definitely a thing of the Old Testament. It really made me reconsider why I’d held so tightly to this one OT rule when there are pages and pages of Levitical law I always ignored because they were OT and under the old covenant.

       
  2. Miss Teacha

    December 23, 2011 at 6:18 pm

    If we hold to the 10 percent law law, what about the tithing of our time are we giving the Lord 10% percent of hour time to him, should we be that limited. Shouldn’t we be giving more of our lives to service and worship of Christ. I’ve been thinking about that tithing rule, too. . . especially in relationship to my whole life being about living for Christ.

     
    • jalzen

      December 28, 2011 at 6:35 am

      I totally agree. One of the summer’s I spent as an oversees missionary I really learned about how God should be an active part of my entire life and not just the church stuff. My time, talent, and treasures should be offered to Him. Some wholly and completely. Others my actions are to honor Him, so, in a way, they are still given to Him.

       
  3. wendeth77

    December 24, 2011 at 8:43 am

    The Jewish believers would most likely tithe still because they (generally speaking) still practice their Jewish traditions and beliefs (rightly so). It wouldn’t be simply money, however because the law of giving included the grains and any other form of “fruit”. Currently $ would probably work best for people, however I would argue people should be using their talents and giving to the church that way also. The Gentile believers, however, were not specifically instructed, which has always led me to the assumption that perhaps it was something they learned from their Jewish leaders….or perhaps they just went and did their own thing. Although, as a person that believes in the Torah I would argue we should still tithe 10% and the rest is offering. I have known people who’s tithe was all of 10$ a week, but that was a lot for them, but they were faithful and G-d was faithful to them. I guess the argument would be where does your faith lie. I think the idea of supporting the “priest” is important, but I am strongly against the hundreds of thousand $’s some are making…..which is another issue all together 🙂 I am a minimalist though, and would argue against a lot of things that are in the building in an effort to feed more hungry and help more hurting.

     
    • jalzen

      December 28, 2011 at 6:32 am

      Thanks for your thoughts on this. I knew you would bring another viewpoint. It was really just an area that we decided we were being “religious” or legalistic about rather than worshipful and obedient. Good to think about things from multiple perspectives and prayerfully consider our stance.

       

Leave a Reply

 
