RSS

Paleo Thanksgiving Recipes

20 Dec

I’m not quite talented enough yet to come up with my own Paleo recipes that are worthy of posting. For Thanksgiving this year I scoured the internet to find tasty recipes to make for my visiting friends who are not really devoted Paleo eaters. I wanted to cook the healthiest meal possible, but not make anyone thinking they drove to Colorado for a “healthy” Thanksgiving. Here is my review of the recipes we tried. I even have pictures this time! I know. You’re impressed.

The appetizer hits:

Deviled Eggs with Bacon 

Surprisingly, this was the biggest hit from all the food we made. Who would have known that something as simple as deviled eggs would make a group of four thirty-something men. They were good, but they were just deviled eggs. Anyway, they were good. I recommend the recipe.


Bacon-Wrapped Dates stuffed with Cream Cheese & Almonds

One of my favorite things at a local restaurant is bacon-wrapped dates. I’ve wanted to make these for a while, but never got around to it. The work is a little tedious. Luckily, I had a wonderful cooking assistant who didn’t mind the task.

Wonderful cooking assistant and blessed friend.

Appetizer eh:

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

I couldn’t find crab that I was happy with, so I substituted tuna. These weren’t bad, but I wasn’t super excited about them. The recipe might have been fine if I’d had crab. If I make them again, I’ll definitely try to track down some crab. I might also think about cheese as well. We were going for the “cleanest” paleo Thanksgiving possible, but we did make a few exceptions (i.e. cream cheese in dates and honey in desserts). This recipe was ALSO a lot of work, but once again, wonderful cooking assistant insisted we cleaned the mushrooms thoroughly and removed the gill things so they’d be tasty.

Turkey:

The turkey was pretty good, if I do say so myself. I’d never make a turkey before, but was assured by many that it was pretty easy. I also thought I would be grossed out, but it was kind of fun.

The sides were pretty much a bust. I didn’t make most of them. The one I did make ended up being more of an appetizer that didn’t go over too well.

Stuffing

I forgot to defrost the meat for this, so it just didn’t happen.

Mashed Cauliflower

People didn’t really seem interested in these, so I didn’t bother.

Roasted Beets with Pistachio Butter

Another recipe that appeared to be a bit of work, several people weren’t too keen on the idea, so I passed.

Prosciutto Wrapped Pears 

I didn’t feel like making the balsamic reduction, so the pears ended up being really dry. I doubt I’ll ever make them again, but they would have been at least a little better with the reduction.

Warm Spinach, Prosciutto, and Pistachio Salad

This salad could have been good, but something went awry. It was way too salty and lemony. The idea was good. Next time I’ll dress it myself and not follow the recipe.

Holiday Yams

This one was pretty tasty. A little sweet for a side dish, but still good. Husband and I were the only ones who were big fans though. I think that’s because we eat sweet potatoes on a regular basis though.

Dessert:

Of course all desserts were made.

Apple Crisp

This was the least favorite dessert of both husband and me, but a couple of our guests really liked it. We should have sent the leftovers home with them, because we ended up throwing some of it out afterward.

Cranberry Waldorf Salad

You can tell I’m not much for fancy presentation. I liked this one a lot, but, according to the men-folk, “it doesn’t look like dessert.” They weren’t fans. However, it was really good and didn’t have anything bad in it.

Pumpkin Pie

This was a huge hit. The biggest cheat dessert of the evening. The crust was made from gluten-free cookies, and there was a bit of honey in it. However, it was super tasty.

Pumpkin Cake

This one is ok, but not as good as the pie. Also would not recommend eating it as leftovers. Put the “icing” on right before serving, and don’t refrigerate. Make sure it all gets eaten fresh. The “icing” gets hard if it’s refrigerated, and then it’s just not as good.

All in all, a great Thanksgiving feast. I haven’t worked on our Christmas meal yet. So far I know I want a “Christmas ham”, some sort of green beans with bacon, and homemade pizookie for dessert. It’s only going to be the two of us, so that may be all. I’m investigating recipes on Wednesday, so I’ll keep you updated.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on December 20, 2011 in paleo, Recipes

 

Tags:

5 responses to “Paleo Thanksgiving Recipes

  1. Laci Morgan

    December 20, 2011 at 9:11 am

    I made the sweet potatoes and the apple crisp for Thanksgiving so I’d have a few things to eat at my in-law’s. Both seemed to be a big hit, so I’ll definitely make them again. I especially liked the sweet potatoes! Let me know if you find any good Christmas recipes.

     
  2. jalzen

    December 20, 2011 at 9:43 am

    For sure! Glad you found some stuff you could use. I’m looking at Christmas recipes either today or tomorrow, so I’m sure I’ll post.

     
  3. John Martins

    December 23, 2011 at 4:16 pm

    Wow, I made the Pumpkin Pie. It looked delicious so although it isn’t Thanksgiving, I made it for my family anyways.
    They loved it. Thanks for the recipe.
    Oh, and Thanksgiving was great this year. We made a turkey using a combination of recipes (I combined some from http://healthythanksgivingrecipes.org/recipe-roasted-turkey and a bunch of other sources). It was a big feast and hunger-quenching.
    But I never had any of your recipes this year, because I didn’t discover it then. I will be sure to bookmark this page for future use!
    Thanks!

     
    • jalzen

      December 24, 2011 at 1:08 pm

      Glad you found something you enjoyed. I tried these out for the first time this year too!

       

Leave a Reply

 
