RSS

Gluten-Free Banana Muffins

29 Nov

Ingredients:

6 very ripe bananas
about 1/2 of almond butter
5 dates, pitted
2 eggs
2 tsp vanilla

2 1/2 cups almond meal
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda

Directions:

  • Place the first 5 ingredients in the food processor
  • Mix last three ingredients in a big bowl
  • Combine dry and wet ingredients
  • Bake in oiled muffin tin/cupcake liners @ 350 for 20 minutes
  • Makes about 2 dozen muffins

I had a bunch of overripe bananas after Thanksgiving, so I decided to make snacks for my Tuesday morning grad class. I couldn’t quite find a recipe I liked, so I pieced together some other recipes to create my own. I’m quite pleased with how they came out. I think the recipe would also work to replace the bananas with canned pumpkin.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on November 29, 2011 in paleo, Recipes

 

6 responses to “Gluten-Free Banana Muffins

  1. wendeth

    November 29, 2011 at 11:36 am

    Ezzah will be so very excited….of the few foods she’s mentioned she misses she said once she misses the banana bread my grandma makes. (I do too, man that stuff is awesome). Can’t wait to try this-let’s see if we can let 6 bananas go ripe!

     
    • jalzen

      November 29, 2011 at 11:46 am

      Yay! There are all sorts of recipes for gluten-free breads and whatnot. If almond butter is any cheaper for you than almond meal, lots of recipes actually use almond butter as the “flour.”

       
  2. wendeth77

    November 30, 2011 at 9:03 am

    oh, hey, I just noticed….1/2 what of almond butter?

     
    • jalzen

      November 30, 2011 at 10:25 am

      Oops. 1/2 cup. Thanks.

       
  3. wendeth77

    December 2, 2011 at 2:54 pm

    so, after doing some research there’s not much difference on meal/flour except one is with skin one typically w/o. Various opinions on the total worth of the skin (some said it’s got some poisonous element to it, others argued it’s a different almond). Anyway, the banana muffins are AWESOME (from the mouth of Ezzah). She says it tastes like her nut meal…makes sense b/c I put banana in that. These are fabulous and I won’t be missing mom’s banana bread too much đŸ˜‰

     

Leave a Reply

 
