RSS

Pumpkin Soup & Dessert

06 Nov

It’s pumpkin season! We are going to a pumpkin-themed party tonight where everyone brings a food item made from pumpkin. So, here are two pumpkin recipes I made this week. The originals are from here and here.

 

Pumpkin Soup

Ingredients:

36 oz organic pumpkin puree
1can coconut milk
32 oz organic chicken broth
1 yellow onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
2 tsp. black pepper
2-3 T fresh chopped chives
1 pckg. roughly chopped mushrooms
2 lbs. ground sausage

Directions:

1. Brown sausage and set aside
2. Saute onions and garlic
3. Combine garlic, onion, sausage, broth, and pumpkin. Bring to boil and simmer for 30 minutes
4. Add coconut milk, chives, pepper and mushrooms
5. Simmer for a few more minutes and serve!

I’ll probably add more sausage next time and maybe some clarified butter to increase the fat. This was super tasty and very different from other things I typically make.

Pumpkin cake dessert thing

Ingredients:
1 cup pumpkin puree
1 cup almond butter
1/2 cup raw honey
2 eggs
1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon cloves

For the Cinnamon Icing:
1/4 cup coconut butter
1/4 cup coconut oil
1/4 cup raw honey
1 teaspoon cinnamon

Directions:
1) Mix all cake ingredients and put in 8X8 or round dish. Bake at 350 for 30 minutes
2) Let cake cool completely
3) Mix all icing ingredients and drizzle over cooled cake

I haven’t actually had any of this yet. It’s for the party tonight. Hopefully it turns out ok.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on November 6, 2011 in Recipes

 

Tags:

8 responses to “Pumpkin Soup & Dessert

  1. Savory Simple

    November 6, 2011 at 7:54 am

    That’s my kind of party! The recipes sound delicious.

     
  2. wendeth77

    November 30, 2011 at 9:09 am

    Your opinion. I noticed you use broth….I have chosen to use stock b/c it generally contains very few ingredients where broth tends to have additives. Your thoughts?

     
    • jalzen

      November 30, 2011 at 10:27 am

      I’ve actually never considered stock simply because everything I read talked about broth, and I don’t know anything about stock. I thought you had to make stock. Can you buy it? I use the “Imagine” brand broth because it has the least ingredients, but now I’ll look for stock.

       
  3. wendeth77

    November 30, 2011 at 2:24 pm

    being stuck in Jonesboro I don’t have a LOT of options….Kroger has a decent natural section, but man it’s expensive, and some things I can go for. The stock is typically the base (chicken, beef), salt and veggies. Broth is words I can’t pronounce. It’s more expensive (depending on where you go as much as a dollar more), but in this sense I feel it’s worth it. I do know how to make stock, just haven’t bothered. I’ll look for “Image”. I’m certain the stock isn’t healthy exactly, but I am dillusional enough to believe it’s healthier than the broth options I have.

    Making this soup now. It’s just about done. You know there will be a photo 🙂 It smells AMAZING

     
  4. wendeth77

    December 2, 2011 at 2:08 pm

    my pumpkin desert tastes very almondy 😦 can I use less almond butter, or will it not cook properly? It’s good for an almondy desert 🙂

     
    • jalzen

      December 2, 2011 at 2:23 pm

      Hmm…I haven’t had that experience. Maybe it’s the almond butter you’re using. I’ve never had to try and adjust for this problem, so I’m not of much help. I think it would be fine, but my logic for that is the muffins have very little almond butter in them and they turn out ok.

       
      • wendeth77

        December 2, 2011 at 2:38 pm

        thanks. agreed, could be the type of almond butter. Unfortunately the only thing I could find ready is the jar at wal-mart. Will be doing some online shopping soon and making a lot of this myself.

         

Leave a Reply

 
