RSS

Quiche Revisited

17 Oct

Every time MIL made quiche for husband and me, we marveled at how much better it was from ours, so when she helped us move to CO, we asked her to make it for us so we could learn. Here is the revised quiche recipe, which I prefer to the old one posted way back when.

Ingredients:

1 dozen eggs
1 can of coconut milk
1# of some sort of meat (I usually use a combination of bacon and sausage)
Some veggies of choice (I purchase seasonally, so currently we put in something like an eggplant, some kale, and some sort of small squash)
Fat of choice to oil the baking dish (I use butter or coconut oil)

Directions:

1) Cook the bacon in a skillet and set aside
2) Cook the other meat in the bacon grease left in the skillet
3) While meat is cooking, dice up your veggies. As you dice them, add them to the cooking meat.
**NOTE** I think step 3 is the key to why this quiche is better than the old one. No more food processor & veggies are cooked in skillet before going to the oven
4) Allow meat and veggies to cook together while you get the other stuff ready
5)  Crack all the eggs in a large bowl and whisk them together
6) Add coconut milk and all meet & veggies
7) Grease baking pan and pour in all ingredients
8) Bake at 350 for about an hour. (Higher temp and longer for higher elevations like CO)

Half-way through Day 2. I’m definitely having some cravings for bad food, but the fridge is full of tasty wonderfulness. I’ll distract myself with those foods until the cravings pass. Have not wasted 1.5 hours of homework time, so I’m off to transcribe interviews!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 17, 2011 in paleo, Recipes

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Quiche Revisited

  1. wendeth77

    October 17, 2011 at 12:25 pm

    THANK YOU! I am a HUGE quiche fan and enjoy making it for people (who have never complained yet). I’ll have to try this recipe also as I have never used coconut milk. I know you can’t, but cheese has always been a favorite of mine! (preferebly someting smoked, I like what that does to the overall flavor.

     
    • jalzen

      October 22, 2011 at 8:30 am

      Cheese is definitely tasty in quiche. I’ve also decided that I prefer quiche without the crust. Crust was just too much work.

       

Leave a Reply

 
