RSS

Hamburger Helper?

16 Oct

I ate Hamburger Helper a lot growing up. My dad did almost all of the cooking, and this was right up his alley. As a general rule, we don’t eat food out of a box, but I tried out this recipe yesterday that is made from all fresh ingredients and reminds me of those old meals. It brought back childhood memories and was healthy and tasty!

The original recipe is here, but I modified it a bit.

Ingredients:

1/2 head of lettuce shredded (green or red will work. I used green)
2# ground beef
Handful of dried rosemary
3-4 garlic cloves
3 tbsp paprika (I didn’t actually measure this. It looked like somewhere between 2 and 3)
3/4 cup butter (Not sure on this amount either, but it’s close)
Salt & Pepper to taste

Directions:

1) Melt 2 tbsp butter in pan
2) Add lettuce and saute for a few minutes
3) Add ground beef and brown (This step was weird because I was cooking raw meat with already sauteed lettuce, but that was what the original recipe called for, and it turned out ok)
4) Add in everything except for remaining butter and s/p
5) Add rest of butter and let simmer for a few minutes
6) Salt and pepper to taste

I think the combination of the paprika/rosemary/butter is what makes the flavor like the old HH. Next time I want to try fresh rosemary and see if the flavors pop anymore. Regardless, this was tasty. It will be made again. Oh, PS, clarified butter will be approved in the new Whole 30! Yay!

 

On a personal note, the husband and I moved to Colorado just over two months ago. We’ve had a fantabulous time getting acquainted with our new digs and making new friends. However, those fantabulous times were almost all centered around lots of food and drinks. Our bodies are feeling it. We don’t look, feel, or perform as we did before the whole move began. It’s time to return to a sense of normalcy and figure out how to be our same healthy selves here in one of the healthiest cities in America. Plus, it is also almost snowboarding season! We’ve got new gear, and I’m going to try this sport out one more time. (I’m sure there will be blog posts to follow on that) Anyway, in preparation for this fun and active season, we are going legit Whole 30 approved for the next three weeks. I’m hoping to post new recipes and updates periodically. We’ll see if every day happens with grad school. Anyway, cheers to day 1!

 
9 Comments

Posted by on October 16, 2011 in paleo, Recipes

 

Tags: ,

9 responses to “Hamburger Helper?

  1. kateshrewsday

    October 16, 2011 at 6:55 am

    Really chuffed to find this site- what a great recipe, and it’s good to look forward to others to come. Thanks!

     
  2. wendeth77wendeth

    October 16, 2011 at 6:58 am

    clarified butter…a.k.a GHEEE! 🙂

     
    • jalzen

      October 17, 2011 at 12:13 pm

      Lol. Yes. It was a fun experiment to make it the other day.

       
      • wendeth77

        October 17, 2011 at 12:28 pm

        oy! I can’t stand the smell of making it. I’ve never done that here in the states, but ammi did it in Pakistan and we all hated it, avoided the house even.

         
      • jalzen

        October 22, 2011 at 8:30 am

        Hamburger helper?

         
      • wendeth77

        October 22, 2011 at 3:49 pm

        made fresh ghee

         
  3. Miss Teacha

    October 16, 2011 at 4:44 pm

    I am going to join you and I’ll be blogging to keep myself accountable. This evening I bought some spaghetti squash and butternut. I can’t wait to make some goodies with it.

     
    • jalzen

      October 17, 2011 at 12:12 pm

      Yay! Glad to have company.

       
  4. Miss Teacha

    October 23, 2011 at 9:55 am

    I made it with zucchini b/c the man at the farmers market gave me a whole bunch extra (he was trying to get rid of it before it went bad, said he had too much). At any rate, it taste just like hamburger helper. I’m sure it was the seasoning. I didn’t use butter b/c I didn’t have any used olive oil to sauteed the veggies in. In the end, it was too greasy for my taste. I think its b/c of the olive oil. When I made it again, I’ll use butter and I prob won’t add the butter at the end. Really really tasty. Just greasy.

     

Leave a Reply

 
