RSS

Sabbath Reflections

25 Sep

Grad school has been going for over a month, and I’ve been faithful to observe a time of worship, rest and Sabbath on Sundays. I will admit that when I committed to doing this, I was a bit concerned about getting everything done and feeling behind. However, I knew this was a matter God was convicting me on, so I moved forward in obedience.

I have to say that it is absolutely, 100% incredible, and I encourage anyone and everyone to do it who isn’t. I thought this day may be restraining for me–that I would worry periodically throughout the day about the “responsible” things I should be doing. While things on my to-do list may skirt across my radar occasionally, there is no worry. First of all, I think part of being in grad school is always feeling behind. Even if I’m two weeks ahead on a syllabus, there’s still more to be done. I could work all day Sunday and still feel behind. Second, there is so much freedom in a day where I don’t have to do anything. Everything that happens on Sunday is something I get to do. When I’m going through my week and there’s something that crosses my mind I would like to do, but feel I don’t have time for, it goes on my Sunday get-to-do list. There is no pressure about this list. It’s simply there as a reminder when Sunday afternoon rolls around.

Sunday is truly a day of replenishment and refreshment. We sleep as late as we want and go to whatever church service works in our schedule. Afterward, the day is ours. We spend some of the day doing things together, and some of the day doing whatever we fancy individually. There is no guilt about what choices are made or pressure to do anything either does not wan to. If cooking sounds like fun and not a chore to me, I do it. If I feel like laying down and watching old episodes of Project Runway, that’s ok. There is time for me to write new prayer cards and reflect on my week. I can blog! It’s all and all just great.

I’m sure there will come times in my grad school career when I am challenged on this, but I am committed to remaining faithful. When Monday comes, I hit the ground running, and I run hard for the rest of the week. I think I am able to do this because of the rest I attain on Sundays. God is so good.

How has observing Sabbath been going (or not going) for you?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 25, 2011 in Christ-follower

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Sabbath Reflections

  1. wendeth

    September 25, 2011 at 3:26 pm

    Praise G-d! That is an amazing testimony of what the Holy Spirit is doing in you and with your personality. we are always blessed when we obey. I do have one question….Project Runway…seriously? 🙂

    Baruch HaShem

     
    • jalzen

      September 27, 2011 at 5:26 am

      I don’t care much for the show, but I like to look at the clothes at the end. It’s a guilty pleasure, I know, but it’s better than General Hospital, which I watched for like three years in college. 😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
