RSS

Prayer of Worship

18 Sep

Husband is out of town with the car at the men’s retreat for our new church, so I’m spending some alone time with God this morning. The devotional I’m reading with dearest friend asked that we write a prayer of worship, so I thought I’d take a shot at it here.

Father,

Praise and honor to You for all that You are, all that You’ve done, and all that You will do.

You are far greater and more wonderful than anything this world has to offer or that it can even imagine.

The world spins and floats in Your hands. It is Yours and everything in it.

There is nothing too difficult for you. You are strong and mighty.

You reign from everlasting to everlasting. I am awed by Your great Majesty.

All of creation sings of Your glory. Your beauty is all around.

You alone are worthy of accolades and worship. Every good and perfect gift is from You alone.

May all glory, honor, and praise be to You forever and ever.

Amen

—–

Some reflection: I pray all the time. It’s my second nature when I have some quiet time with my thoughts. If I see something that concerns me, I pray. If I see something beautiful, I pray. Yet I struggled to write this prayer. Not because I struggle to praise and worship God, but because I was intentional about not including “me” or “I” in it. That’s interesting to me. I believe in a true and loving relationship with my Father, and I know that He cares about my thoughts and concerns. However, I do not think it should be hard for me to spend some time praising Him and not thinking about me. I think this is something I will try to do again and to be cognizant of the fact that it is so easy to lose sight of how small I am in the grand scheme of things.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 18, 2011 in Christ-follower

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
