RSS

Being in Want

01 Jul

I didn’t grow up wealthy, but all of my needs, most of my wants, and many of my dreams were met. My family always bought new cars, I attended private school, and I traveled to nine foreign countries before I graduated from high school. I was blessed with parents who continued to support me through college, and three weeks after graduation, I was offered a well-paying job. I have never lived in want.

The next chapter in Team Alzen’s story includes at least a little time of truly living by faith and trusting God to provide for our needs. Wonderful husband of mine is looking for a job in Colorado. I fully believe that he will do all he can to find a job and that God will provide him a job if it is His will. However, I do not consider us owed employment in any tax bracket. We very well may be asked to live off of the stipend that came with my admission to graduate school and whatever side contract work comes our way.

Regardless of this, there is no doubt in my mind that our basic needs will be met. I have always believed that all I had was because God blessed me with it. Now is a time in my life to “prove” what I’ve always believed with my words and actions.

The first of these actions is making some life adjustments and learning to live without some of the conveniences of the first world. We have already done one round of selling away/giving away/getting rid of things and will do at least one more round before we move. We will move from our home with extra rooms to a 700-square-foot house. We’ve sold husband’s truck, and we will have only one car for an indefinite period of time.

Even in these changes, there is blessing. We found a cathartic feeling in getting rid of some of our things. I appreciate knowing we can do just fine with less. In the last two years or so we’ve become more active, and I now love being outside. This is good since my primary form of transportation now requires me to enjoy the outdoors. Our 700-square-foot house is just one mile from school. Walking would not have been an option had God not helped us secure this housing. God blessed us in the past two years with a love for active lifestyles. You can have a lot of fun for very few dollars exercising and enjoying the great outdoors. We will be fine, but it will definitely be different from any other time in my life.

I love that God has brought me to a place of contentedness. I opened by saying I have never lived in want. While we will be making some adjustments to move to Colorado, I still feel as though I will not live in want. Sure we may live in a small house and have only one car. However, we will be in a place we have longed to live in for several years, and I will pursue a degree God called me to five years ago.

This is an amazing time in our lives. While the next few weeks will be a bittersweet time of making memories and saying “goodbye for now,” it is not goodbye forever, and I refuse to worry about this part of moving away.

Matthew 6 closes by reminding the reader that God looks out for birds and lilies and that we are far more valuable to Him than these. We are reminded that worrying does nothing, so it is not worth the energy. I have had moments of worrying, but I refuse to give in to this any longer. God is my provider and sustainer. All of my needs will be taken care of until He is done with me here, and I go home to be with Him.

“Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all. But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.” Matthew 6:31-34

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 1, 2011 in Moving

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Being in Want

  1. Miss Teacha

    July 1, 2011 at 12:51 pm

    A really really beautiful post. I was just reading this scripture earlier before you posted it–the one from Mat 6. Thank you for sharing how God has spoken in your life.

     

Leave a Reply

 
