RSS

Intercession

15 May

I don’t make friends easily. While I’m an extrovert who likes to be around people, I’m often socially awkward, and don’t do well in groups of people I don’t know. I’m often very blunt and straightforward. This can make people feel intimidated and uncomfortable. Despite all of these shortfalls, God has blessed me with incredible friends. While I often say “I don’t care,” I’m beginning to reject that as my reality. Instead, God has given me the ability to function outside of emotion at most points in life. While I may have emotion about something, I can most often put the emotion aside and look at the logical elements of a problem or situation. The “I don’t care” doesn’t mean I don’t care about a person’s emotions, feelings, or the situation in general. It means “I don’t care” that the devil wants to use emotion and irrationality to overwhelm a situation and use it for his purposes. He who is in us is greater than he who is in the world, and I try to make decisions and act based on this Truth.

God is teaching me that He made me intuitive to be sensitive to hurts those around me are feeling. He also made me judgmental in the sense that I can look at those situations and make a clear-headed judgement about what should be done next. I may not always do this successfully, but I am learning to do it more and more. A big part of this is knowing what to say, when to say it, and how to say it.

I have several friends who are hurting quite a bit right now. All have different sources of hurt, but all are hurting nonetheless. Some are from my church family, some are not. Regardless, my heart breaks for them. Some of them have already asked for advice, some never will, others just aren’t ready to hear advice from anyone. We were challenged at Sandals Church today to use our words to love. At this point, there is not much I can do to help my friends but pray. However, I know and believe that prayer is powerful, and a blessed use of words.

This morning I was on my knees before the throne interceding for these who I love desperately, and I will be there again tomorrow. Thank you, friends, for loving me. Allow me to love you through prayer during this time.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 15, 2011 in sandals

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Intercession

  1. Daniel Balboa

    May 23, 2011 at 7:38 pm

    I read this and I felt you were speaking to me. I feel the same thing friend. I’m kinda blunt too. We love you M&J Alzens. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
