RSS

My Husband’s Girlfriends

07 May

This morning I wake up to realize that I’m alone. Husband apparently got up to hang out with the dog and play video games. I stagger out, blinded by the lights, and ask what’s up. He can’t sleep and is about to go to Starbucks to get us coffee. I quickly changed clothes and combed my hair. Here’s why.

Husband goes to Starbucks every day to study for the CPA exam, and he’s acquired several girlfriends there. This morning after he orders, she recognizes him from his order and through the camera, and a big “oooh hi!!!!!” comes through the intercom. “Anything else for your friend?” I’m his wife ma’am, wife.

We get up to the window and he pays. When she returns, “I didn’t realize your name had ‘zen’ in it. That totally fits you!” Wink. smile. sideways glance… She completely ignores me. Then she sees the dog in the back of the truck. “Oh, I didn’t realize you had a friend with you! How cute!” Nice save on the friend comment from earlier, lady.

Husband is sure they are paid to be nice and are pandering for tips. They’re all much nicer to everyone else who comes in to Starbucks. I’m not actually worried he’s going to have an affair with one of the Starbucks girls, but I’m just making my presence known at least once in a while.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 7, 2011 in Team Alzen!

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “My Husband’s Girlfriends

  1. Alicia

    May 7, 2011 at 3:38 pm

    This is funny, as a fellow barista, I can say we are supposed to be nice, but not that nice. 😉 Girl, you make your presence known!

     
    • jalzen

      May 7, 2011 at 6:30 pm

      I knew it! Thanks for the weigh in, barista friend!

       
  2. Daniel Balboa

    May 10, 2011 at 12:34 pm

    Ok I’m laughing now. That was fun and cute!! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
