RSS

Things I Will Miss From the Classroom

05 May
Off the top of my head, here are things I think I will miss from the classroom. To many, it will be an odd list, but these are the things I’ll miss.

-Planning Lessons
-Writing Tests
-Analyzing Test Data (stop laughing)
-Rushing to get, analyze, and plan off of CST scores
-The First Day of School
-Decorating my classroom
-Spending time with awesome teacher colleagues
-Hearing a room of 35 twelve-year-olds singing happy birthday to me
-Telling students I love them and believe in them and seeing that they know I’m telling the truth
-Seeing the light bulb go off above a kid’s head
-Using a SMARTboard
-The feeling of satisfaction when a student finally gets it and is able to demonstrate that knowledge on an assessment
-Reading professional development books (I’m thinking I’m only reading grad school material for the next 5 years or so)
-Writing on a white board
-Buying bunches of school supplies every year
-Parent conferences dinner with my homies 🙂
-The calm of a classroom Friday afternoon
-12-year-old drama (sometimes it’s funny)
-Greeting 135 students a day and knowing I have the chance to make a difference in their lives
-Praying over and for my students

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 5, 2011 in education, Moving

 

Tags:

One response to “Things I Will Miss From the Classroom

  1. sherri

    May 5, 2011 at 8:28 pm

    I agree. Those are the special things that are missed when you step out. But you take them with you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
