RSS

What Me and Michael Scott Have in Common

02 May

Steve Carell’s notable character, Michael Scott, left The Office this past week. Michael decides to leave Scranton, OH  to start the next chapter of his life in Boulder, Colorado with his fiancee, Holly. The episode chronicles his last day of work as he says goodbye to the people who have been his best friends for the past seven years. This will be me over the next few months.

In just four short weeks I will say good-bye to my classroom and school campus–the home of my first job and amazing co-workers and friends. We will also be moving Boulder, CO to begin the next chapter of our lives.

Michael talks about how on your deathbed, no one wishes they had spent more time at the office. He and I both agree to disagree with that statement. I have loved almost every moment of my work here. The people I work with have challenged me, taught me, and encouraged me. Being a part of the lives of hundreds of students and their families is a blessing I will forever be thankful for.

I know this is the next step, and I know it is the right step. That truth is what brings comfort in light of the imminent sadness that will occur in saying goodbye to these people who I truly love. Also, I’m thankful for blogs, twitter, Skype, facebook, and social media in general. I have so many good friends now who I don’t see very often, but I still feel connected to them and their lives because of social media. Be sure to check back here often. I’ll tell you all about our next great adventure, and I expect you to keep me informed on what’s going on with you as well.

Maybe if we run in to Michael Scott in Boulder, I can teach him how to Skype with Jim. 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 2, 2011 in Moving

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
