RSS

Being a Full-Time Student

29 Apr

As I’ve been talking with people over the past few months about going back to school, some interesting conversations have occurred. At first, people assume that I’ll be working full-time and going to school–something I never intended to do. During this part of the conversation, I often get a look of pity or awe at my willingness to go through such an experience. When I clarify that I actually will not be working, but will instead be a full-time student, most of the time the other person’s face turns to disgust–like working and school would be better than just school. I know lots of people who are “done” with school. They’ve got their degree(s) (or not) and have no intention of going to school ever again. They’re not school people. That’s cool. It’s not for everyone, but that in no way describes me.

I absolutely LOVE school. There are undergraduate classes I would go back and take. Frankly, there are undergraduate degrees I would go back and get. Most of the books I enjoy reading are non-fiction books. The rest of my readings are typically fantasy novels. Sure, there are assignments, exams, projects, and papers that I won’t necessarily enjoy. There will be professors or other students I’m not crazy about working with. However, all of these will be “academic exercises” as I was wisely told by one of my amazing mentors. Each of these exercises grows and challenges me and takes me one step further in my education. I can’t wait! Remind me of this when I complain in the future. For now, I’m super stoked about being a student again.

PS…If I wasn’t before, I know I’m the hugest nerd ever after this post. I said I like school, would go back for another undergrad degree, read non-fiction, and read fantasy in my free time. Love me anyway and don’t hate. 😉

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 29, 2011 in Grad School

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Being a Full-Time Student

  1. Alicia Divers

    April 29, 2011 at 10:32 am

    No Hate here, all love!

     
  2. Bethany Cordes

    May 2, 2011 at 9:00 am

    I would go to school to again. BUT only if I wasn’t working at the same time. I’ll take full time student over full time working any day!

     

Leave a Reply

 
