RSS

Amazing Race Preparations

25 Apr

I’ve said for a few years that husband and I should try out for the Amazing Race. I had only watched an episode or two back in college, but was pretty sure we could rock at it. I’m now fairly certain that we’re going to at least send in an application for next year’s season. I doubt we’ll get past the first cut, but it’s still fun to pretend.

In preparation, we thought we should perhaps watch this season. Like I said, my exposure is limited, and husband hasn’t seen one episode. Oh. my. gosh. In Episode 1 of this season people are swimming around with sharks! In the 4 episodes we’ve watched, I told husband he’s doing 3 of the 4 challenges we’ve seen. I’m such a big chicken. It’s been decided that I’ll just have to repeat “$1,000,000” when I get freaked out. Btw, we didn’t even know you could win money on this show.

According to our friends who have watched several seasons, we need a niche to get on the show. We figure we’ll wear our vibrams, eat paleo, and be Mike & Jessica, the cavemen/people? I don’t know. What do you think? That’s all I’ve got at this point.

4 episodes in, here is our to-do list before getting on the show:

-Learn German–we need a language advantage somewhere and we need a language to speak to each other that others won’t know

-Train with weight vests on so we can run around with those backpacks

-Learn basic greetings and formalities as well as directional words in key world languages such as Mandarin, Spanish, German, and Hindi/Urdu

-Practice map and compass skills

That’s the list for now. We’ll see what else comes up as we watch.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 25, 2011 in Team Alzen!

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Amazing Race Preparations

  1. Laci Morgan

    April 26, 2011 at 10:20 am

    YES! You guys would be PERFECT for that show. Probably “health buffs” would be the best thing to play up as your “niche.” Also, be prepared to eat things like raw duck eggs or bull testicles…those have been challenges before. We’ll so root you on! 😀

     
  2. Alicia

    April 26, 2011 at 11:59 am

    You guys would ROCK at Amazing Race! I would love to see you guys do it!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
