RSS

Saying Goodbye and Choosing Joy

03 Apr

My grandmother is dying. She is not expected to make it to the summer. This is a hard place to be. My grandparents have shared over 40 years of marriage. They have been the most beautiful example of a Christian couple walking together with the Lord to me. I have so many memories of beautiful times spent with them. Much of what I know of faithfully serving the Lord comes from hearing their stories and watching their example. I cannot imagine being my grandfather as he walks down this road with his wife. I realize that this is a part of life, and that it is a reality that all of us must face in one way or another at some point in time. Husband and I have only been married for 5 years, and I love him more desperately each day. I can’t imagine how I would feel after 40 years of journeying together. In all of this, my deepest sadness is for my grandpa. He is the one who will be left behind to face days without his beloved. She will be going home to be with the Father. There will be no more sickness or crying or pain for her, but he, and the rest of our family, will remain. Please say some quick prayers for us in the days ahead. I am trying to choose joy in the reality of her eternity with Christ, but the pain of loss cannot be completely avoided.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 3, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
