RSS

I Went Running Today

25 Mar

If you know me at all, you know I HATE running, so it’s a bit odd for me to start off Spring Break 2011 with a 3.4 mile run. However, husband, MIL, and I will be running in the Warrior Dash next Saturday, and I wanted to know what three miles felt like.

Prior to beginning the run, here were my thoughts:

-this is going to suck
-I’m not going to be able to do this
-I’ll probably have to stop and walk during the first mile or so
-I might puke
-I might fall
-My husband might come looking for me because I’m going to be gone so long
-I’ll never be ready for this mud run
-Side cramps will kill me
-I’ve never run this far before without stopping

Here’s what I was thinking as I ran:

-This isn’t so bad
-There are lots of cool and not so cool smells around here
-I saw a bunch of my neighbors, and that was kind of nice
-The first 1/2 mile was cake
-The second 1/2 mile were my only side cramps. They were gone by the completion of mile 1
-Partway through the run, I decided it was easy, so I ran FARTHER!
-My limiting factor was blistering on my feet from my VFFs, not my cardio
-It felt GOOD!
-I didn’t have to breath through my mouth at all!

Here’s an interesting tidbit, running the 3.4 miles was easier than pretty much every crossfit WOD that I’ve done, and those typically take around 20 minutes. Thank you, crossfit, for training me to handle a longer short run. For runners, I know this was not impressive at all, but for non-runners like me, I’m amazed! I’ve never run this far before in my life. Granted, I ran rather slowly at about a 12 min mile pace, but I kept going. It was a great feeling, and I’m super stoked. Mud run next weekend will be my next run. Then I’m going to do this once a week for the next month as I’ve got a second mud run scheduled with friends from work in May. I’m excited to know I can do this. I have no desire to be a runner, but it’s nice to know I can if I want to. Crossfit and weightlifting for me!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 25, 2011 in crossfit

 

Tags:

One response to “I Went Running Today

  1. miss teacha

    March 29, 2011 at 8:59 am

    Glad it was a great run! You are such an inspiration

     

Leave a Reply

 
