RSS

A New Chapter for Team Alzen

10 Mar

It’s official. Come this summer Team Alzen will make the great exodus from California to Colorado. I’m going to be a buff!

Five applications, three acceptances, and one easy decision later, we’re making a move. CU was my second choice when filling out applications. However, after meeting the people at Boulder on two occasions, I’m in no way sad that I didn’t get into my first choice school. I’d asked God to make the decision easy for me, and He did. I feel so blessed by all of this.

If you’ve known us in any sort of deep capacity for the past five years, you’ve known that husband and I have been aiming ourselves at Colorado for several years now. Boulder seems to be a perfect fit for us. It’s a “smaller” college town, but still a thriving city. There’s usable public transit, yet some of the most beautiful and accessible nature is available. Boulder has been voted the most intelligent and most fit city in the nation. Not that we are the most intelligent or fit, but these are things we value. Also, gluten-free is everywhere and sustainable food sources are praised in numerous locations. These two crazy California nuts should fit in just fine. 🙂

Everyone I met who is currently in my program is super nice and friendly. My advisor is wonderful, and I got to meet several people who will be in my cohort who seem to be just great. I will admit that I had some feelings of inadequacy upon first meeting several of them. Some people got in to some top name schools. However, good friends and family helped me to adjust my attitude about it all, and I’m excited to be working with such great people. I’m sure many a story will come from our adventure. Thanks to social media, I don’t feel as though I’ll be completely separated from my great California family. If you ever want a vacation spot, Boulder’s a great place to stay. Come for a visit!

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 10, 2011 in Grad School, Team Alzen!

 

3 responses to “A New Chapter for Team Alzen

  1. Ted

    March 10, 2011 at 7:41 pm

    I love this! You are going to have such a great time and learn so much. I am now looking for an opportunity to come visit. I would love to come see what smart, fit people live like!!

     
    • jalzen

      March 10, 2011 at 8:20 pm

      I would LOVE it if you did!

       
  2. Alicia

    March 12, 2011 at 2:16 pm

    Excited for the new place for obedience for you and the hubs! This is exciting and obviously bitter/sweet! Riverside (and a little piece of Houston) will miss you both.

     

Leave a Reply

 
