RSS

The Next Six Months

01 Feb

The next six months will likely be the most dynamic of my life. Husband and I have been talking about moving out of southern California since before we got married. However, it’s always been this far away thought or dream. Though nothing official has happened, the wheels have definitely started moving. Potential buyers for our house come over every few days, grad schools are starting to send response letters, and soon we’ll be looking for a new place to live. Within the next six months, I anticipate quitting my job, selling my house, moving at least 3 hours away, finding a new place to live, and starting full-time graduate school. Whew! Talk about life-changing! In addition to all of this, we’ll leave the safety of familiarity. Our neighborhood, church, friends, family, and jobs that have defined our life for the past six years will all be left.

I can’t help but think of Abram often. My experience is not as great as his, but it is similar.

Now the LORD said to Abram, “Go from your country and your kindred and your father’s house to the land that I will show you. Genesis 12:1

God cared more about who Abram was on his journey and less about his location. We’re moving to grad school because I have believed since the day I graduated from my undergraduate program that it was part of God’s plan for me to get a PhD. I don’t know why, but I know it’s part of the land God has shown me. If it comes to a point where I have to choose between two grad schools, I’ll need much prayer. There is one choice that will be difficult for me, but I know God has it in control. I’m seeking to be the woman God wants me to be, and my desire is to go to grad school where I can best become that woman.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 1, 2011 in Grad School, Team Alzen!

 

2 responses to “The Next Six Months

  1. David

    February 1, 2011 at 6:39 am

    part of this makes me happy… to see how God is orchestrating your life.

    part of this makes me sad… because the Cordi will miss the Alzens.

    part of this makes me jealous… I had to give up my dream of PhD… and the unknown of God’s plan still looms.

    part of me is excited… you’ve finally written about something other than paleo… 😉

    love ya.

     
    • jalzen

      February 3, 2011 at 6:00 am

      Love this comment and love you too! The Cordi are so special to us.

       

Leave a Reply

 
